Friday, 30 May 2014

3000 Twitter followers and 3 year blogversary !

This has been an great month for my blog firstly I reached my 3 year Blogversary! I never imagined three years ago that my blog would be as well know and as successful as it is today so I am really chuffed that three years down the line you all still enjoy reading my ramblings about the books I read so thank you all for coming back time and again to read my reviews.

If that wasn't enough I have now also reached 3000 followers on Twitter ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! Thank you so much to all who follow me and who have re-tweeted me and recommended this blog to your friends I wouldn't have made these achievements without you.

So to say a great big thank you to you all I am going to hold a giveaway and because the blog is followed by many of you who are lucky to live in the sunshine too I am going to make this one an International giveaway so you can all enter! There are 4 paperbacks up for grabs so I will pick 4 winners

Once again thank you so much and GOOD LUCK!! xx

Winner number 1 will win You're The One That I Want
Winner number 2 will win The Unpredictable Consequences of Love
Winner number 3 will win In The Summer Time
Winner number 4 will win The Flavour of Love

Prizes





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Love Me For Me by Jenny Hale


Libby Potter has just lost the perfect job, the perfect apartment and the perfect boyfriend. Moving back to the home town that she couldn’t wait to escape when she was younger was definitely not on her to-do list. Especially as it means running into the man whose heart she broke when she left. Pete Bennett can still make Libby’s world stop with just the sound of his voice – even ten years on. Only now, she is the last person in the world that he wants to see. As everyone else welcomes Libby home with open arms, she realizes she’s missed that special closeness that comes from lifelong friendship. And, as Libby seeks to make amends with Pete, she begins to wonder whether she made the right choice in leaving all those years ago. When an amazing career opportunity gives her the chance to leave again, Libby will have to decide what her version of perfect is… and where she really belongs.



I know you should never judge a book by its cover but I am guilty when it comes to this book, as soon as I see the cover I just had to get my hands on a copy and luckily the publishers allowed me an ARC copy so thank you Kim!

Libby left her home town as well as the love of her life Pete just after she left school. Feeling like she was a big fish in a small pond she wanted to go out into the world and make something of herself. Now her world is falling apart and she needs to return to her home town. When she returns to White Stone she soon runs in to Pete and all her old memories come flying back but Pete doesn’t seem happy to have her back.

This was a delightful read. It isn’t a heavy plot so it is ideal if you are looking for something light to whisk you away to an idyllic setting and a cast of lovely characters. I did find the ending very predictable but I was quite happy to read the book and watch the journey to the obvious conclusion.

Libby was a great main character she seemed to go on a journey of self discovery in this book, although she has lived a very fulfilled and enjoyable life away from her home town now she is back in White Stone thoughts, feelings and emotions come back from her childhood and it is time to work things out with her mum. My favourite character though has to be Pete, he is a strong gentlemanly character who is also very caring even though his feelings have been hurt.


I would recommend this book and because of the authors easy writing style that wraps you up in the storyline from the start I can’t wait to try more books by this author.



Kindle             Paperback

Sunday, 25 May 2014

The Summer Without You by Karen Swan

Rowena Tipton isn’t looking for a new life, just a new adventure, something to while away the months as her long-term boyfriend presses pause on their relationship before they become engaged. But when a chance encounter at a New York wedding leads to an audition for a coveted houseshare in The Hamptons – Manhattan’s elite beach scene – suddenly a new life is exactly what she’s got. 

Stretching before her is a summer with three eclectic housemates, long days on white sand ocean beaches and parties on gilded tennis courts. But high rewards bring high stakes and Rowena soon finds herself caught in the crossfire of a vicious intimidation campaign. 

Alone for the first time in her adult life, she has no-one to turn to but a stranger who is everything she doesn’t want - but possibly everything she needs.


I read my first Karen Swan book at Christmas and I loved it so I couldn’t wait for her new release The Summer Without You, what I didn’t expect was the hefty size! This book would be hazardous if you was to fall asleep reading it but luckily enough the storyline is so compelling there is no chance of drifting off!

Rowena or Ro as we come to know her has just bagged herself a Summer in the Hamptons after her partner decides he is having a pause in their relationship to go trekking! Ro is in for an adventure herself, she finds three fun and lively friends in her new housemates who show her a life far from her what she is used to. As she begins to make friends and work comes rolling in will Ro be able to go back to her old life and still have the same feelings for Matt?

I adored this book! I was put off by the size of the book as I usually find with larger books like this that they seem quite drawn out but I can’t say that about this book. It flows at a comfortable pace and there are no low points to the book in fact it is anything but! This author sure does like her unexpected twists and turns, this is what makes this book impossible to put down as you have to keep turning the pages to see what the next revelation will be.

There is a delightful group of characters in this book I loved each and every one of them they create such a light fun read just from their personalities alone. Ro was a fabulous main character, I thought she was going to annoy me and be a bit feeble after allowing her partner to put a pause on her relationship but I think she handled it pretty well and I think her time in The Hamptons made her find out who she really is. Her passion for photography really shines through and the pictures she takes are captured beautifully in the book I felt as though I could actually picture them. I loved Hump he sounded sexy, care free and fun which was just the kind of friend Ro needed.

The storyline was very unexpected it had a fresh, summery, fun feel to it but then it suddenly took a turn and had a more intriguing and eventful part to it. The descriptive writing was beautifully detailed which was something that I remember I loved from her previous book so this is obviously a strength for this author. I loved this book so much and I really don't think my review can do this book the justice it deserves, this author is fast becoming a form favourite of mine.


If you are looking for a holiday read that has a Summery feel but will also have you hooked from the first page with twists and turns then this one is pure perfection and should be top of your list.


Kindle          Paperback



Saturday, 24 May 2014

Thirteen Weddings by Paige Toon


Sometimes you have to step out of the light to see clearly again… Bronte never expected to see Alex after their one night together, but she never stopped thinking of him. So when she arrives at work one day to find that Alex is a new colleague, she is secretly thrilled. The only problem is that Alex is now engaged to Zara, the girl he was on a break from the night they met. Determined to move on with life, Bronte becomes a part-time wedding photographer, alongside her day job. Surrounded by loving couples, warring couples, tearful bridesmaids, mischievous pageboys and interfering mothers-in-law, she tries to navigate her way through wedding after wedding while her heart is being torn apart. As Alex's own wedding day draws ever nearer, Bronte and Alex's chemistry becomes harder to ignore, and Bronte must decide whether to fight for the man she loves, or to let him go forever.


Everyone goes mad for the new Paige Toon book every year when it is released and this year will be no exception. The author has delivered another addictive read that will have her fans all in a spin.

Our protagonist is the lovely Bronte and she is so easy to warm to straight from the start. Originally from Australia she has just moved to the UK to work on a magazine as a picture editor and has managed to catch up with some friends she met on a brief visit to the Uk a while ago. In her spare time Bronte finds herself helping out Racheal who has her own wedding photography business and an unreliable assistant so Bronte often steps in to help her with her weddings but can she overcome her fear of being inside church. Will she find love in the UK and will it change her views on marriage?

I wanted to be really careful when giving my brief synopsis of this book as this book could be spoiled by giving to much away when it comes to the romance. There is basically a kind of love triangle going on and the protagonist really can’t make her mind up, her feelings are confusing her and all the way through the author keeps the reader guessing as to who Bronte will choose. This has to be the only book where I would have been happy no matter what the ending as I couldn’t make up my mind if I was #TeamLachie or #TeamAlex ! Both of the male character is this book were both gorgeous and loving but they were both have completely different personalities. I loved them both and I honestly didn’t prefer one over the other.

The storyline was unpredictable and entertaining. I can’t get enough of books about weddings at the moment with mine now only weeks away and I loved seeing the different weddings taking place. One thing you can always count on with Paige Toon books is the emotion that just seems to seep through the pages and this is the case with this book.


This is another winner for me, I thoroughly enjoyed it and I feel like I have had my Toon Dose fo another year, roll on 2015 for another release! Although The Longest Holiday is still my favourite by this author, I would still recommend this book.



kindle                    paperback

Friday, 23 May 2014

The Travelling Tea Shop by Belinda Jones


Laurie loves a challenge. Especially if it involves tea-time and travel. So when British baking treasure Pamela Lambert-Leigh needs a guide on a research trip for her new cookbook, she jumps at the chance.

The brief: Laurie and Pamela Ð along with Pamela's sassy mother and stroppy daughter Ð will board a vintage London bus for a deliciously unusual tour of the USA's East Coast, cruising from New York to Vermont. 

Their mission: To trade recipes for home-grown classics like Victoria Sponge and Battenburg for American favourites like Red Velvet Cake and Whoopie Pie. All the women have their secrets and heartaches to heal. As well cupcakes galore, there's also the chance for romance... But will making Whoopie lead to love?


Every year I await the release of the new Belinda Jones book and after enjoying Winter Wonderland so much (easily my favourite book by this author) I couldn’t wait for her new release The Travelling Tea Shop not only because it does feature characters from Winter Wonderland but also because it is a book (I love books!) about cakes ( I love cakes!) and travel ( I love to travel!) and romance ( yes you guessed it !) So all in all, this book just sounded like pure perfection to me!

Laurie is about to take on a new project at work and this could be her biggest challenge to date. Well known and loved baker Pamela Lambert-Leigh is working on a new cookbook but there is a tight schedule and lots to research so she hires Laurie to plan a tour of the USA’s East coast with stops on the way to trade classic American cake recipes with classic English recipes.

All sounds pretty exciting, now throw in a big double decker red bus, Pamela’s crazy mother who is the bus driver and a stroppy daughter, could this be a road trip from hell or a deliciously good tour?

This was so hard to read considering I am dieting for my Wedding! There are cakes galore in this book and they all sounded mouth-wateringly good, I even found myself wanting to bake especially how easy the “pound” cake sounded! 

I will be honest and say I didn’t feel like the story slash travel had the right balance in this book which is so unlike this author’s books. I found it was too much travel with only a little storyline verging onto a travel guide rather than a novel it seemed to lack the spark that is in each and every one of Belinda’s previous novels which I hate to say because I am a mahooooosive Belinda fan and just want to love everything about all of her books. The authors descriptive writing style that I always love is still strong in this book it was easy to picture the settings and it was nice to have some back ground history of the various places too, this book has been very well researched and this is clear in the authors writing.

I loved Laurie you could tell how much she loved her job and how excited she was about the tour, I wouldn’t say I related to her as she was uber organised and a very calm character who manages to come up with a quick solution to any problems without getting into a flap! I wanted to throttle Pamela’s daughter Ravenna she was such a spoilt little madam she played her part well. I wouldn’t be surprised if there was another book featuring Laurie and Harvey as well as Krista and Jacques and I would definitely be picking it up as I do think they are such wonderful character that they would make a great book if they could all be big roles in a book.


Although this wasn’t a favourite of mine by Belinda I still enjoyed it and will be eagerly awaiting her next read.





Thursday, 22 May 2014

You're The One That I Want by Giovanna Fletcher

Maddy, dressed in white, stands at the back of the church. At the end of the aisle is Rob - the man she's about to marry. Next to Rob is Ben - best man and the best friend any two people ever had. And that's the problem.

Because if it wasn't Rob waiting for her at the altar, there's a strong chance it would be Ben. Loyal and sensitive Ben has always kept his feelings to himself, but if he turned round and told Maddy she was making a mistake, would she listen? And would he be right? Best friends since childhood, Maddy, Ben and Rob thought their bond was unbreakable. But love changes everything. Maddy has a choice to make but will she choose wisely?
Her heart, and the hearts of the two best men she knows, depend on it...



You're The One That I Want is Giovanna Fletcher's second novel which I have been eagerly awaiting after thoroughly enjoying Billy and Me last year. The cover for this one is beautiful, the colours used are going to make this one pop on the shelves and the cover suits the storyline well with the female shown in the middle of the two males.

The storyline follows the very close friendship of Maddy, Ben and Robert from when they first meet at such a young age and we then watch them and their relationships grow right through into adulthood. Maddy is about to marry Rob but is she making the right decision?

The story alternates between Maddy and Ben's points of views so we can really see from each side how much their friendship means to one another. Although Roberts points of view were not really included we still get a full picture of his character so he doesn't play a lesser role. What I loved most about this book is the emotion and also the remarkable way the author manages to capture such a great strong and natural bond between the trio.

I could really relate to Maddy because when I was growing up my bestfriends were Joe,Ryan,Ross and Dean and I ever quite found my place in "the girl group" like Maddy so I could understand her thought process ( luckily for me I didn't find myself in her situation!) As well as relating to Maddy I also loved both Rob and Ben they were both such life like characters and because we see them grow you cant help but feel as though you are reading about your own friends.

The storyline is quite simple and yet because it is realistic and heartfelt it made it impossible to put down so it was a very quick read. I still would say that Billy and Me is my favourite but I think that book would have been hard to beat for me because I connected to that storyline on a personal level, but never the less this is still a superb second novel by Giovanna Fletcher which is full of love, friendship, tears and laughter for all to enjoy,  it just shows that love can test even the strongest friendships.



Kindle           Paperback

Monday, 19 May 2014

Janey Fraser Interview

Today I am joined by the lovely Janey Fraser 



1) Tell us a little bit about your new release. 
Two couples go on honeymoon to the same Greek tavern. One is in their twenties and already have small children (left behind with granny). The other is a celebrity fitness bachelor who’s married a divorced mother of two sulky teenagers (who turn up later, unexpectedly). But one of the grooms has a past – about to be revealed by the owner of their honeymoon villa. Lots of secrets all round that could end both marriages before they fly home... 

2) Where did you get your inspiration for this book? I love hot places but I also wanted to keep the Corrywood setting from my previous novels. So I set the first part of the novel in Greece and the second in my fictional market town. The honeymoon idea came from a fascination with the pros and cons of going away with someone you might not know very well – even if you think you do. The stress of a honeymoon can bring out all kinds of emotions, both before and after the so-called ‘break’! I chose not to have one after my second marriage.... 

 3) How do you start writing a new book, do you write all your ideas down first or do things just come to you as you begin writing? 
I usually get an idea while I’m writing the previous novel. I try to bat it away until I’ve finished the draft I’m working on but if the idea persists, I begin to make notes. It’s usually an idea in a particular setting that involves three main characters. So I start with one and make the reader like her (hopefully) before giving her a problem by the end of the first chapter. The second chapter takes up the thread with another main character who, in some way, is linked to the first. The third chapter is told from a male viewpoint – also connected with the main plot. Then the fourth chapter goes back to the first character. Before long, they are all rubbing against each other to make the plot flow. Part of the fun is not knowing exactly what is going to happen although, three quarters of the way through, I have a general idea. I’ll then revise the whole ms at least four times to sow foreshadowing seeds; check the plot works; and make the characters more rounded.

4) What has been your favourite book to write and why?
I really loved AFTER THE HONEYMOON because I include teenage children as well as little ones. The plot also deals with first love which is so poignant. I’ll never forget the first boy I fell in love with. He was called William Charter and he broke my heart when I was 17....Hope he isn’t reading this!

 5) What are your thoughts on the Kindle vs Paperback?
My newish husband gave me a Kindle with a lovely pink cover. I do use it but not very often. There’s nothing like turning over a page in my book. Having said that, I’m more and more sure that the Kindle and its competitors are the voice of the future. 

 6) What was the last book you read and would you recommend it?
I’m currently reading Jodi Picoult’s The Story Teller. Love it! I like the different viewpoints and I’m also engrossed in the characters and their secrets. Can one’s sins ever really be forgiven by another human being? That’s a big one.

 7) If you were dropped off on a year long holiday on a desert island what would be your three must have items?
My laptop to write on. Skype to check up on the children (and husband). And a big Scrabble set. My husband and I have wonderful arguments over which words are allowed. If I played on my own, I’d have to argue with myself.

Thank you so much for joining us today, I have to say I completely agree with you there is no feeling that can beat turning the pages of a real book!
So now you have all heard from Janey herself it is now time for my review of her new release After the Honeymoon....






Two couples, one honeymoon destination, and enough secrets to end both marriages.
 How can one honeymoon cause so much trouble?
 Much as Emma loves Tom, she would never have got married if he hadn't insisted. But with Tom sick for the whole week, shouldn't she at least take advantage of the entertainment?
 Winston married Melissa after a three-month whirlwind romance. As a breakfast TV fitness star, he's anxious to keep things private. But the arrival of Melissa's two children soon puts paid to that. 
 Rosie arrived at the Villa Rosa homeless and pregnant when she was just seventeen. Now, sixteen years later, she runs the place. However, the appearance of Winston throws her into confusion. He might not remember her, but she has never forgotten him. 
 By the end of the week, none of their lives will be the same.
 But how will they cope after the honeymoon is over?

I have just finished reading After the Honeymoon by Janey Fraser and I loved every minute of it. Part of me wishes I had waited a few weeks and taken this book away with me to read on my honeymoon but I have been looking forward to this one so I started it as soon as it arrived through my door and then read it in no time at all.

The storyline follows two newly wed couples on their honeymoon, Emma and Tom who are your normal every day couple who live very normal lives and are feeling the stress and strain of family life and Melissa and Winston, who are used to the higher life with Winston who has his own exercise show on tv. Both couples are honeymooning in Greece at the gorgeous Villa Rosa which is run by Rosie who is a single mother who had to leave England at a very young age when she found out she was pregnant. Will they have the honeymoon we all wish for or will the honeymoon get emotions running high?

This was by far my favourite book by Janey Fraser. The chapters alternate between Emma, Rosie and Winston’s points of view and this worked really well and allowed the reader to develop their own perception of each of the characters rather than being swayed by the thoughts of others. There are many characters in this book but I didn’t find at any point in the book that I was confused by who was who as each of the characters were developed so well they were easy to tell apart.

This is going to be a perfect holiday for everyone his year, it is set in the stunning Villa Rosa and this one will warm your cockles as well as your heart as romance is flowing in this book but to keep you on your toes there are some hidden secrets and some of the relationships have trouble in paradise! In some parts the story is predictable, you could see what was going to be the outcome but you couldn’t quite see how the storyline was going to get to this outcome. There were also a lot of parts that I couldn’t predict which for me gave the book a good balance and also kept me hooked the whole way through.

There are characters you will love and there are characters that you will love to hate, I personally found Tom to be like a wet weekend ( as did most of the characters!) My favourite characters had to be Rosie and her gorgeous son Jack.

This was a perfect read that I will be recommending to friends this Summer I just wish I had saved it to take away with me on my Honeymoon. ( Janey do you think you can write another book by the 14th June!!)


After The Honeymoon is due for release on 22nd May


Kindle               Paperback

Sunday, 18 May 2014

Sunday Special

We have a mad week coming up on the blog. This week there are so many new books being released that there is a danger of your To Be Read Piles toppling over! I am going to let you know what we have going on on the blog this week so you can keep your eyes peeled for the reviews you want to look out for. I will also give you some amazon links to the new books that are being released this week. The to top it all off I am going to be doing My Kindle Bargain feature too as there are some great priced kindle books at the moment. So lets kick off with what we have on the blog this coming week.

Monday 19th May : After the Honeymoon by Janet Fraser - Blog Tour - Q&A + Review

Wednesday 21st May : The Unpredictable Consequences of Love by Jill Mansell - Giveaway

Thursday 22nd May : You're The One That I Want by Giovanna Fletcher - Review

Friday 23rd May : The Travelling Tea Shop by Belinda Jones - Review

Saturday 24th May : Thirteen Weddings by Paige Toon - Review 

Sunday 25th May : The Summer Without You by Karen Swan - Blog Tour Review

Phewww... That is a busy week!



So this week we have some superb books being released, some of them I have had review copies for and some of them I have on pre-order. Here are the links to some of the books that I have on my list.





Which ones will you be buying this week?
So last but not least I am now going to do my kindle bargains for you. 



99p

98p



69p ( amazing price for this book)


56p


61p




98p


I hope you all have found something to tickle your fancy this week, be sure to come back and tell me what goodies you have picked up xXx


Thursday, 15 May 2014

Before You Die by Samantha Hayes


Oh God, please don't let me die. 
It has taken nearly two years for the Warwickshire village of Radcote to put a spate of teenage suicides behind it. Then a young man is killed in a freak motorbike accident, and a suicide note is found among his belongings.

A second homeless boy takes his own life, this time on the railway tracks.
Is history about to repeat itself? DI Lorraine Fisher has just arrived for a relaxing summer break with her sister. Soon she finds herself caught up in the resulting police enquiry. And when her nephew disappears she knows she must act quickly.

Are the recent deaths suicide - or murder?


After losing my reading mojo I decided to change from my usual genre and try a psychological suspense novel and the book I picked was Before you Die by Samantha Hayes which is my first read by this author so I didn’t know what to expected but once I got started I couldn’t put it down so I read it in one sitting.

After a spate of suicides in the village of Radcote it has taken two years for the community to move forward, but after a another young man is found dead after a motorcycle accident after leaving a suicide note as well as another young boy who left a suicide note before a train accident it seems as though another spate is about to begin.

With Freddie doing a disappearing act after his family have observed that he seems a little depressed, his aunt Lorraine who is a Detective Inspector wants to get to the bottom of the problems in this village before it is too late for her nephew.

Well this well and truly got my reading mojo back! This book was full of suspense with twists and turns in every chapter. We are given a few clues some to help us and some that lead us down a completely wrong path. My one and only problem with this book was I had already guessed the villain from early on in the book, so part of me did think about giving up reading it but then I wanted to know what occurred and what the reasoning behind it was, and I have to say when I found out why I was a little disappointed as I found the reasoning behind it to be rather pathetic! I am glad I did carry on reading because it was a great book and the ending had me in complete shock I didn’t expect that revelation at all!

There was quite a lot of content covered in the storyline crime, suicide, bullying, adultery, special needs, Lies and deceit so there really is a lot to take in and keep your mind occupied. There are also quite a few characters in this book but you never find you are confused by who is who. My favourite character has to be the lovely Gil, I looked forward to hearing his point of view each time and I think it was great how the author managed to portray his view taking into account his special needs.


This would be a 5* read if the author had managed to hide the villain from me but because I guessed easily so early on I am going to day this is a 4* read.




LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...