Thursday, 30 June 2016

Florence Grace by Tracy Rees


Florrie Buckley is an orphan, living on the wind-blasted moors of Cornwall. It's a hard existence but Florrie is content; she runs wild in the mysterious landscape. She thinks her destiny is set in stone. But when Florrie is fifteen, she inherits a never-imagined secret. She is related to a wealthy and notorious London family, the Graces. Overnight, Florrie's life changes and she moves from country to city, from poverty to wealth. Cut off from everyone she has ever known, Florrie struggles to learn the rules of this strange new world. And then she must try to fathom her destructive pull towards the enigmatic and troubled Turlington Grace, a man with many dark secrets of his own.

Selecting which books to take away with me on my break to Cornwall was a hard one but with Florence Grace by Tracy Rees set on the Cornich Moors it was a no brainer that this one had to come with me.

Florence Grace or Florrie Buckley as she was known when we were first introduced to her, is a fiesty free spirited young girl who has grown up on the Cornish Moors, she was a gifted child and I was fascinated by her character right from the opening chapter.
Florrie's life took a drastic change after her nan died and her mother's wealthy family, the Grace Family, claimed her and took her away to London to live a completely different life. But is it a life that Florence can adjust to or does her heart still belong to the moors?

The authors vivid writing style brought the setting in both London and the Cornish Moors to life. Tracy Rees has managed to allow the reader to see how claustrophobic and suffocating London felt to Florence compared to the welcoming expanse of land that allowed her to feel free.

The storyline felt very realistic and never far fetched so I found that I enjoyed the book all the more for this. Each of the characters were extremely well developed some I loved others I loathed but they all were an integral part of the book. Turlington was a highly developed and complex character who managed to keep me on my toes the whole way through and I was unsure on what would become of his character in the end and I must say I was surprised with direction his character took at the end.

I loved the mystery that surrounded Old Rilla and I would have loved to have seen her character pop up more in the book. Of course our main character Florence Grace was my favourite character she was a strong minded and determined character who didn't give up easily and wasn't afraid to speak her mind! As we watch Florence try to adapt to her new life in London over the years we wait to see if the life of riches and love is enough to make her stay in London.

The storyline has a troubled and forbidden romance that had me constantly swaying as to whether or not the relationship could develop or not. My only little problem with the book was the last third of the book felt a little drawn out and my attention had began to waver but luckily the author pulled it back with a great ending that tied everything up not leaving us on a cliff hanger.

Having enjoyed Florence Grace and finding it a beautifully written and captivating read I look forward to now going back and reading her debut Amy Snow.



Paperback              Kindle


ALSO WHY NOT TREAT YOURSELF TO AMY SNOW WHICH IS CURRENTLY AN AMAZING PRICE ON KINDLE.


Tuesday, 28 June 2016

Watching Edie by Camilla Way


THERE ARE SOME FRIENDS YOU’LL NEVER FORGET… NO MATTER HOW HARD YOU TRY 

BEFORE Edie is the friend that Heather has always craved. But one night, it goes terrifyingly wrong. And what started as an innocent friendship ends in two lives being destroyed. 

AFTER Sixteen years later, Edie is still rebuilding her life. But Heather isn’t ready to let her forget so easily. It’s no coincidence that she shows up when Edie needs her most. 

NOW Edie or Heather? 
Heather or Edie? 
Someone has to pay for what happened, but who will it be?



Watching Edie is one of those books that once you have finished reading you can’t help but sit there in utter disbelief. It was a sick and disturbing storyline but my curiosity made me keep turning the pages and although I knew something sinister lay ahead it still shocked me when the events were revealed.

The storyline alternates between Before which is told from Heather’s point of view and After which is told from Edie’s point of view which was a first for me but I think it worked really well in keeping the suspense and suspicion throughout the storyline as well as allowing us to build a picture of each of the girls from their own telling as well as through the eyes of each other.

In the BEFORE chapters we are taken back to when Edie and Heather first became friends when Edie starts at Heather’s school in Fremton. Edie is a natural beauty whereas Heather is one of those girls who never quite fit in anywhere but the pair strike up an unlikely friendship. Trouble begins when Edie meets Conner and falls head over heels for him but Heather is not happy about the new relationship.

In the AFTER chapters we fast forward sixteen years and after the girls having no contact Heather turns up on Edie’s doorstep but her arrival isn’t a welcome one as it brings back awful memories to the tragic event that happened all those years ago, but what does Heather want from her all these years later?

I was totally absorbed by the storyline and I ended up reading the whole book in one sitting having not been able to find a safe place to put the book down. It was one of those books that you just had to read one more chapter which soon lead to another and another as I desperately wanted to uncover what had happened between the girls to have kept such close friends apart all those years. Although it was quite obvious that something awful had happened it was in no way predictable what had actually occurred had me feeling equally shocked and disturbed. 

The author has such a clever way of creating characters who are very intriguing but also very callous even if I didn't realise the characters awful traits from the off. It seems wrong for me to say I enjoyed this book because I don’t think anyone could say they enjoyed such a sinister, dark and twisted storyline but yet it was thoroughly addictive and compelling almost like driving past a crash not wanting to look but being unable to stop yourself.

This was a really well written twisted psychological thriller that will have you sitting there with questions rolling around in your mind afterwards, I think this one will play on my mind for a while and will certainly get book groups something to talk about.




Hardback                    Kindle

Tuesday, 21 June 2016

Thursday, 16 June 2016

How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry


Today it is my stop on the Blog Tour for How to Find Love in a Book Shop by Veronica Henry. As soon as I heard the title of this book I was eager to get my hands on a copy and then when I first see the cover I was in love before I even started the story!






Nightingale Books, nestled on the high street in the idyllic Cotswold town of Peasebrook, is a dream come true for booklovers. 
 But owner Emilia Nightingale is struggling to keep the shop open. The temptation to sell up is proving enormous - but what about the promise she made to her father? Not to mention the loyalty she owes to her customers. Sarah Basildon, owner of stately pile Peasebrook Manor, has used the book shop as an escape from all her problems in the past few years. But is there more to her visits than meets the eye?
 Since messing up his marriage, Jackson asks Emilia for advice on books to read to the son he misses so much. But Jackson has a secret, and is not all he seems... And there's Thomasina, painfully shy, who runs a pop-up restaurant from her tiny cottage. She has a huge crush on a man she met and then lost in the cookery section, somewhere between Auguste Escoffier and Marco Pierre White.
 Can she find the courage to admit her true feelings?


How to Find Love in a Bookshop is the second book I have read by Veronica Henry, as soon as I saw the cover and read the title I knew this was going to be a perfect book for me. The book is set in the town of Peasebrook and at the heart of the storyline is a welcoming independent bookshop called Nightingale Books and this bookshop links the vast amount of characters in this book. After her father died the running of the shop has fallen into his daughter Emilia’s hands but will she keep the bookshop running or was that just her father’s dream?

 There are a lot of characters to get to know in this book with introductions still being made at the half way point which I found strange having already met so many characters I didn’t feel the need to meet anymore especially so far into the book but each of the individual storylines helped to bring more depth to the storyline although personally I didn’t feel like Thomasina’s storyline was needed and unfortunately I think her character won’t be one that I will remember and I wish the time was used more on Emilia and the bookshop which was the part of the storyline that really held my interest.

Romance, friendship and community spirit bring an uplifting feel to what started off as a poignant read with the characters being struck with grief after the loss of the much loved and respected Julius.

We never like to come to the close of a book and leave the characters behind but Veronica Henry has rounded off each of the characters storylines perfectly not leaving us hanging. I really enjoyed this book because Emilia has the job that all us bookworms could only wish for so it was a treat to watch her show her passion for books and then day to day running of a bookshop.


Saturday, 11 June 2016

Out of Practice by Penny Parkes

Meet married mum of two and successful GP Holly Graham as she relocates her family to join the team at The Practice at Beckerford, hoping to find the peaceful life she craves, despite the chaos that comes with her two year old twins and the troublesome state of her marriage. It will certainly be a challenge to keep her private and professional lives separate in such a tight-knit community. Her colleagues have their own issues to contend with. 

The gorgeous Dr Dan Carter is struggling with to focus on work and the last thing he needs is any more stress; having his ambitious ex-girlfriend Dr Julia Channing working alongside him isn't really helping. Thankfully, the rather delectable Dr Taffy Jones is on hand to distract Holly from the escalating situation at home. 

Feisty octogenarian and resident celebrity, Elsie Townsend, is Holly's favourite patient and saving grace. Elsie's inspirational Life Lessons come at the perfect moment, as The Practice is suddenly under threat of imminent closure and Holly rediscovers her voice and her priorities just in time …


Out of Practice is Penny Parkes debut novel and if dishy doctors make you go weak at the knees then this book will be right up your street.

Holly Graham has relocated to Larkford with her adorable little twin boys and husband Milo. Hoping for a fresh start Holly is thrilled to be close to her best friend Lizzie and is looking forward to starting her new job as a GP at The Practice but the new life that Holly envisioned soon starts to show signs of trouble.

The book gets off to a welcoming start with a touch of humour and it soon becomes clear that the author has a wonderful writing style that manages to pull you into the storyline from the first chapter and hold your attention the whole way through.

There is such a likeable group of characters in this book alongside our main character and the community spirit is buzzing through the pages. Elsie Townsend was a wise and wonderful character who has lived a fulfilled life and she takes an instant shine to Holly and I constantly found myself looking forward to her popping up during the book. We watch Elsie encourage Holly to find her true self rather than being a people pleaser and this is where Holly’s character really develops as she learns that it is ok to say no and put yourself first and do what you want to do rather than what you feel you should do.

I was really hoping all the way through that Holly would walk away from her husband Milo, he was such a controlling and egotistical character who I could not stand and I didn’t want someone as vibrant and loving as Holly to waste her life with a man like that. I was hoping she would fall in to the arms of one of the dishy doctors but one minute I wanted her to fall for Dan and the next moment I wanted her to fall for Taffy but ever way I was happy to take whoever didn’t tickle her fancy!


There were some predictable parts of the book but equally the author also managed to conceal some little snippets too that came as a surprise. This was a terrific debut and I wouldn’t be surprised if we find ourselves revisiting Larkford and its loveable characters in a future book by Penny Parkes but either way I will definitely look forward to more books from this author.

THIS BOOK IS CURRENTLY AVAILABLE ON KINDLE FOR AN AMAZING PRICE OF ONLY 99p SO GET IN QUICK! ( price at time of review )

Kindle


THE PAPERBACK RELEASE DATE IS 28th JULY BUT YOU CAN PRE_ORDER BELOW

Friday, 10 June 2016

Summer at Skylark Farm by Heidi Swain


Today it is my stop on the Summer at Skylark Farm tour and Heidi has got a delicious recipe for us.


Apple Crisps
 Heidi Swain 

 Hello everyone and thank you so much for joining us on this leg of the blog tour with the fabulous Rea. 

You are certainly in for a sweet treat! 
 No Summer at Skylark Farm inspired picnic would be complete without the inclusion of apples on the menu so here’s a recipe for healthy apple crisps to snack on that simply couldn’t be easier to follow. 

 You will need: Approximately one apple per person (granny smiths are ideal) 
 Cinnamon to sprinkle (but only if you like it of course) 


 What to do: Heat the oven to 140C / 120 fan Slice the apples through the core into thin slices. A mandolin is perfect for producing wafer thin slices but please watch your fingers!

 Arrange the slices in a single layer on a baking tray lined with parchment and dust lightly with cinnamon if required Cook for between 45 and 55 minutes until the apples have completely dried out and are light golden in colour. The key is not to rush them.

 Cool completely on a wire rack before storing in an airtight container ready for the picnic 

 Top Tip: You might want to prepare an extra batch just in case the first out of the oven prove too hard to resist… 
 And there you have it! 

You all know by now that I love the simple things in life and this healthy apple snack really couldn’t be any easier to make. 

Wishing you all a summer of bunting festooned, sun filled days and sumptuous Skylark Farm inspired picnics! 
 Heidi x

Thank you for this tasty recipe Heidi, I am looking forward to trying it out!


Review

Summer at Skylark Farm is the second ebook by Heidi Swain, her debut The Cherry Tree Cafe was an enjoyable read so I was looking forward to reading her latest release to see how her writing had progressed.

Amber has reached a point in her life where her career has overtaken her life and now at the top of her game she is exhausted and on a whim decides to leave her job behind and embark on a new journey. Working on Skylark Farm was never something she envisaged doing but she is determined to work on her relationship with Jake whose heart lies with Skylark farm. 
But can the farm catch her heart too?

This storyline has a lot more depth to it and the characters were more rounded compared to the authors debut. We revisited characters from The Cherry Tree Cafe which was a lovely touch and
I loved the setting and the friendships that developed between Amber, Harriet and Jessica. 

I did find Holly's part in the book a little predictable so I would love to see the author be able to keep a little suspense in her next book.

Summer at Skylark Farm definitely surpasses Heidi Swain's debut and her writing has blossomed, I look forward to her next release and I would love to see the author write a Christmas novel maybe even with Amber and Jake making an appearance to see how things progress for them as I don't feel like their story has finished.



Tuesday, 7 June 2016

The Sunshine and Biscotti Club by Jenny Oliver


The ovens are pre-heating, the Prosecco is chilling…and The Sunshine and Biscotti Club is nearly ready to open its doors. But the guests have other things on their minds… 

Libby: The Blogger Life is Instagram-perfect for food blogger Libby…until she catches her husband cheating just weeks before her Italian cooking club’s grand opening. 

Eve: The Mum Eve’s marriage isn’t working, but she’s not dared admit it until now. A trip to Italy to help Libby open The Sunshine and Biscotti Club might be the perfect escape… 

Jessica: In Love with her Best Friend Jessica has thrown herself into her work to shut out the memory of the man who never loved her back. The same man who’s just turned up in Tuscany…

Welcome to Tuscany’s newest baking school – where your biscotti is served with a side of love, laughter and ice-cold limoncello!



The cover of The Sunshine and Biscotti Club will definitely entice you in if you are looking for a vibrant Summery read and the story it hold inside is a light, easy read perfect to pick up and put down on a lazy down around the pool.

Ultimately the storyline is about a group of friends who are reunited this Summer to help Libby renovate her baking school slash hotel ready to open to visitors from all over the world but along the way we find out each of them have their own relationship problems that they need to work through.

The recipes that Libby and her friends recreate in this book are mouth-wateringly good  and I found myself wanting to bake biscotti and I am a stranger to the kitchen. This is one of those books that I feel could have benefitted from having a couple of the recipes included in the book for readers to recreate.

Relationship troubles is a big focus in this book and with each chapter alternating between Libby, Eve and Jessica we get to know each of the characters and their problems and I was hoping they would all get their happy ending but I was just so surprised that the girls didn’t come together with a sympathetic ear and wise words for each other.

The only thing missing for me was the lack of chemistry between the characters considering they are all friends that go way back and who lived together for me the connection between them all was missing.


This storyline was set in a blissful location and I enjoyed the renovation side to the storyline, Libby sure got her friends to work hard. With a gentle pace and an easy storyline this book will make great company for your holiday this year.


Paperback               Kindle

Monday, 6 June 2016

The Secret of Orchard Cottage by Alex Brown


Today I am thrilled to be on the blog tour for The Secret of Orchard Cottage by Alex Brown. I have an extract from the book to share with you but remember to stop by the previous blogs on the tour to read their extracts too.


April knew that Nancy was trying to make her feel better, but it had to be at least a couple of years since she had visited her great aunt in Tindledale. The last time had been with Gray, when he was still fairly mobile. They had driven down one sunny Saturday afternoon, stopping on the way at a quaint old black and white Tudor-framed pub with a lovely garden full of pink hollyhocks and a couple of goats in a pen for children to pet. Gray had surreptitiously fed them his salad – never having been a fan of ‘rabbit food’, as he called it. They’d had a wonderful time relaxing, and for a few precious hours it had seemed like the old days, carefree and fun, before the diagnosis changed everything.

‘I guess so. But I’ve still neglected her,’ April said.

‘Then do something about it. Go and see her.’ Nancy stepped back from April and put her hands on her hips. ‘Go on! It’ll do you good – get away from here for a few days, give yourself some space, and you know what they say, a change of scenery and all that.’ Nancy looked April in the eyes. ‘A mini break is exactly what you need.’ She nodded.

‘Hmm! Are you trying to get rid of me?’ April asked, instantly wishing she didn’t sound quite so needy. It really was unlike her, but it was something she had noticed creeping upon her more and more since Gray had died. She felt exposed, vulnerable even, and she wasn’t really sure why, preferring not to think too much about it, hoping the feeling would go away if she ignored it.

April coughed to clear her throat. ‘But I can’t go and leave you here on your own.’ She wasn’t sure it was right, certainly not so soon after the memorial service – the twins might need her.

‘Of course you can.’

‘But what about Freddie?’ April knew how hopeless he was at getting himself up for his job as a car mechanic every morning. And hadn’t she promised Gray that she’d be here for the twins no matter what?

‘What about him?’ Nancy shook her head. ‘No. It’ll do Freddie good to look after himself for a day or two. He’s a lazy arse and relies on you too much. And you really must stop doing his washing!’ She wagged a finger in the air.

‘But it’s no trouble to put it in with my stuff, I quite like doing it in fact,’ April said, always happy to help out.

‘Oh April, pleeeeease, go and visit your great aunt. If only to remind her that your name isn’t Winnie! And you never know, you might even solve the mystery!’

‘Mystery?’ April raised her eyebrows. ‘What do you mean?’

‘You know . . . find out who this Winnie woman is,’ Nancy joked.

‘Ahh, yes, indeed. And I could very well have her fiver here,’ April smiled, waving the note.

‘Exactly! And Freddie is perfectly capable of seeing to his own washing and I’ll be here to make sure he pulls his weight around the house,’ she laughed.

‘Hmm. But joking aside, the name Winnie does seem to ring a bell. I’m sure I’ve heard it before . . . a relative perhaps. I think there was an old black and white picture of her on my aunt’s sideboard in the sitting room . . . in a uniform during the war . . . It used to fascinate me as you don’t often see that, it’s mostly men, the soldiers.’ April creased her forehead, casting her mind back trying to remember more.

‘Sounds intriguing, what happened to her?’

‘I’m not sure – you know how family history gets lost in the mists of time – but I’d like to see if I can find out before it’s too late. My aunt is getting on now and once she’s gone that’ll be it, I suppose, for my family, my flesh and blood. It’ll just be me left.’

‘Then you must go right away, before, as you say . . . it’s too late.’

‘Yes, I should do that. And I am concerned about Aunt
Edie.’ A short silence followed, leaving April deep in thought.

‘And it can’t be easy for her on her own at that age. Has she got a husband? Any children? I can’t remember . . .,’ Nancy asked.

‘No. She never married,’ April replied, then pondered, casting her mind back. ‘She used to joke that there was a shortage of men around after the war, and the only eligible ones in the village were either daft, or already spoken for . . . And that she much preferred the company of horses in any case.’

‘Oh dear.’

‘Indeed. She always had a good circle of friends though, but I guess most of them have probably died by now.’ April shook her head.

‘I guess so. Ninety is a ripe old age. And definitely more reason why you should go and see her.’

‘But are you sure?’ April checked, but now that all the practicalities following Gray’s death had been completed, she was actually starting to feel a tiny bit brighter each morning. Gone was the dreadful split-second gear change on waking, that glorious moment before the synapses of her brain kicked in and it was as if Gray was still alive and still well, only for the grief to come hurtling back all over again when her memory was restored. Yes, April was definitely on the way to feeling a little bit more like her old self, less wobbly, and it would certainly keep her busy for a couple of days. All this sitting around doing nothing very much really wouldn’t do. And hadn’t Gray said on his card for her to seize the day?

So, April made a decision. Nancy was right: she could do with a break, time to gather her thoughts, dust herself down and figure out what next. And it was a pleasant, pretty drive through the countryside to get there, which would give her plenty of time to do just that. Yes, first thing tomorrow morning April would go to Tindledale and visit her great aunt Edith in Orchard Cottage.



Review

It is no secret that I am an Alex Brown super fan and her books set in the quaint little village of Tindledale are my absolute favourites so when I heard her new release The Secret of Orchard Cottage would be making a return to Tindledale I didn’t waste any time in getting started on this book.

Our protagonist is April and she is such a loving and selfless character who lost her husband 18 months ago and is still trying to come to terms with his death and work out what path her life should take now. With a little persuasion from her step daughter Nancy, April decides to spend some time back in Tindledale with her aunt Edith but when she arrives April is shocked at how bad things have got, it is quite clear that Edith is struggling to cope.

Edith is desperate to find out what happened to her sister Winnie who disappeared during WWII and with April at Orchard Cottage now with her help hopefully they can try and discover the truth of what happened to Winnie.

I love books that involve restoration so this book was perfect for me as we watch April try to bring life back into Orchard Cottage. April has faced such a challenging time and I had such compassion for her character and watching her working on the orchards and the cottage we begin to see her character blossom and I was willing her to find her happy ending.

I was really intrigued by Winnie’s story too, I wasn’t sure what we were going to uncover and I love that the author managed to keep me in the dark because I was unable to predict what had happened to Winnie and I was unsure if we were going to find that she had died or that she was still alive. I had such admiration for Winnie and her story brought a lump to my throat. Winnie and April’s stories weave together perfectly in this book and creates such an emotive and yet uplifting read that had me captivated the whole way through.

I loved the return of some much loved characters and being able to revisit the Spotted Pig Café and Hettie’s House of Haberdashery where Hettie and Sybs make another appearance.


This book was full of emotion and tackles some difficult subjects but Alex Brown has also managed to bring that soft and cosy feel to the storyline that I have come to love in her books that makes me just want to visit Tindledale even more. I loved this book and it is up there with my favourite The Great Christmas Knit Off. Kick back with an apple cider and a copy of The Secret of Orchard Cottage for a perfect Summer combo.




Paperback             Kindle

Sunday, 5 June 2016

How to find your (first) Husband by Rosie Blake


Isobel Graves moved to LA determined to be the Next Big Thing. Instead, she is dressed as a giant prawn handing out fliers promoting a fish market. Rather than attending glamorous parties and dating exciting men, her evenings consist of watching box sets with her sort-of boyfriend, whose idea of romance is a late-night drunken text. 

Where did it all go wrong? 

When Isobel catches sight of Andrew Parker, her childhood sweetheart, in the background of a TV news story she feels it's a sign. If she'd stuck with Andrew everything would have turned out better. Now she just needs to find him...
Join Isobel as she travels from LA to Devon and to a remote Malaysian island in search of true love.



I have just finished reading How to Find your (First) Husband by Rosie Blake and I am sitting here wondering how on earth to review this book because it was unlike anything I have read before it is completely and utterly bonkers and yet I was hooked and couldn’t put it down!

Meet Isobel Graves, the English woman trying to make it big in LA but things have not gone to plan she never envisioned walking around in a giant prawn! With life not panning out the way she had hoped her thoughts return to her first husband Andrew and she is desperate to hunt him down as she has a romantic notion that her happy ever after will be with him the only thing is she hasn’t set us on Andrew since they left school! Isobel embarks on a quest to find Andrew again across the seas to England and Malaysia to catch her man!

There were many laughable moments in this book because Isobel often finds herself in embarrassing situations from fires to awful singing and dancing moments all in aid of cheering up friend. This is a pacey witty read that will hold your attention the whole way through because there is always something mad about to happen. I am pleased to say Isobel wasn’t a character that I could relate to as she came across rather stalker like but she was a character who I found myself laughing at and actually as the book progressed I did begin to hope for a happy ending for her but just not with Andrew who seemed like a wet fish to me, if I traveled all that way for a man I would want Channing Tatum to be there waiting for me!


I loved the friendships both new and old in the book, Mel was a true friend and her character complemented Isobel and helped to provide more witty situations when they were together. Although this wouldn’t necessarily be a book that I would read again I am so glad I read it as it put a smile on my face and has left me baffled! 

If you want a witty read that isn’t challenging and is fast paced then definitely give this one a go.


Paperback              Kindle

Wednesday, 1 June 2016

The Postcard by Fern Britton


Secrets. Sisters. The summer that changed everything . . . 

Life in the Cornish village of Pendruggan isn’t always picture perfect. Penny Leighton has never told anyone why she’s estranged from her mother and sister. For years she’s kept her family secrets locked away in her heart, but they’ve been quietly eating away at her. When an unwelcome visitor blows in, Penny is brought face to face with the past. And a postcard, tucked away in a long-hidden case, holds the truth that could change everything. 

Young Ella has come back to the place where she spent a happy childhood with her grandmother. Now she’s here to search for everything missing in her life. Taken under Penny’s broken wing for the summer, the safe haven of Pendruggan feels like the place for a fresh start. Soon, however, Ella starts to wonder if perhaps her real legacy doesn’t lie in the past at all.



I have read all of Fern Britton’s previous books and having just finished her new release The Postcard I can honestly say this is by far my favourite. The book reunites us with Penny Leighton who we met in A Seaside Affair, she is now married to the local vicar Simon Canter and they have a beautiful little girl called Jenna but life isn’t all rosy as Penny is struggling to juggle everything. Being a new mother, keeping the house and her career facing trouble things all become too much add the arrival of her sister Suzie and Penny is facing too many demons and needs to find her way out of the black hole.

This book tackles mental health head on showing not only the emotions and desperation of the sufferer but also the effect it has on those around them too. I felt like this was delivered with great care and emotion and brought awareness about something that so many of us deal with now days. Although the topic made this quite a emotive read it wasn’t a depressive read as the support of friends and the community coming together brought a great light to the storyline and good old Queenie brings that touch of cheeky humour too.

I love that we re-visit characters from past books because that always gives a more familiar and welcoming feel to a book but we also get to meet some much loved new characters such as newbies to the village Kit and Adam who both brought the welcomed testosterone to the village! I also loved Ella too she was such a caring and friendly character who they all came to be able to depend on. The only character who I loathed from the first meeting was Suzie, she had such a scheming and spiteful feel to her character and I was wary of her from the get go.


I still could see us returning to these characters because I still think they have more in store for us so I hope to see Fern Britton bring them back to us. Although we have met Penny before don’t be put off is you haven’t read A Seaside Affair as this can quite easily be read as a stand-alone. This books gets a big thumbs up from me thanks to the engaging characters and relateable storyline which had me engrossed all the way through.

The Postcard is due for release in hardback and e-book on the 2nd June.


Hardback                 Kindle

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...