Monday, 24 October 2016

Searching for a Silver Lining by Miranda Dickinson


Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything . . .

When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong.




I have read every one of Miranda Dickinson’s books and I am a big fan as her books never disappoint. I have to admit to being a little nervous about this book as when I read the synopsis it mentioned about uncovering secrets from the 1950’s and as much as I love uncovering secrets, I am not comfortable with the 1950’s as my knowledge of that era is limited but luckily enough the authors beautiful writing style I have come to know and love soon had me immersed in the storyline.

Mattie and Rennie strike an unlikely friendship on a chance meeting when Mattie arrives at the care home where Rennie lives to do a presentation. The pair soon become good friends and begin to open up to each other and form a plan to help each other with Mattie being able to make amends to her grandfather and Reenie being able to apologise to the band members whose careers she damaged.  The pair embark on a journey along with the handsome Gil to find the original band members of The Silver Five and right the wrongs from the past.

At the heart of this storyline is such a strong friendship between Mattie and Reenie and I found this so endearing. Reenie showers Mattie with her stories from the highlights of her life and in turn it helps Mattie to feel more connected to her Grandfather. We don’t get to meet Mattie’s Grandfather as he has just passed away at the start of the book but we get to build a picture of his character through the short sharp diary entries that pop up throughout the book which I thought was a lovely touch and I looked forward to each entry to see what was revealed.

I have read many books about road trips but it is easy to say none of them are quite like this! Reenie brings a light hearted humour to the book with her diva-ish ways, Mattie  is the one to keep their feet on the ground and make sure things run smoothly ( well as smooth as they can be with Reenie!) and Gil provides up with our eye candy and a little sprinkling of romance.

The authors love of music shines through in this book helped with the soundtracks at the beginning of each chapter, she has quite clearly poured her heart and soul into this book and it is one to be proud of.
I did find the beginning of the book a little slow to start which I haven’t found in the authors previous books but this is soon redeemed and I am so pleased I persevered otherwise I would have missed out on this wonderful journey.


If you love books that feature friendships, secrets, forgiveness and a  diva-ish octogenarian then this book will tick all the boxes!


Paperback                   Kindle

Thursday, 20 October 2016

Christmas at the Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

It's Christmas in the Cornish coastal village of Mount Polbearne - a time for family, friends and feasting. 

Polly Waterford loves running the Little Beach Street Bakery. She's at her happiest when she's creating delicious, doughy treats and the festive season always inspires her to bake and knead something extra special for the village residents. In fact, the only thing she loves more than her bakery is curling up with her gorgeous boyfriend, Huckle. She's determined that this Christmas is going to be their best on yet, but life doesn't always work out as planned... 

When Polly's best friend Kerensa turns up with a secret that threatens the life Polly and Huckle have built together, the future begins to look uncertain. And then a face from Polly's past reappears and things become even more complicated. Polly can usually find solace in baking but she has a feeling that's not going to be enough this time. Can she get things back on track so that everyone has a merry Christmas?


I never imagined that I would be reading my first Christmas novel of 2016 in September in the sunshine sitting around the pool but that is what the excitement of a new Jenny Colgan book does to you!

Christmas at The Little Beach Street Bakery reunites us with our much loved characters from the previous Beach Street books. Polly is still busy baking delicious delights to make our mouth water and when she is not working she just wants to curl up with Huckle. Polly’s best friend Kerenesa plays a bigger part in this book as she finds herself in a terrible position which she shares with Polly putting her in a very awkward situation which could also cause big problems for Polly and Huckle’s relationship.

There are family and financial worries in this book and the author shows how financial strain can put pressure on relationships which is something many people will relate to but it isn’t just personal financial worries, the Puffin Sanctuary is in trouble too and the loving caring woman Polly is soon finds this weighing heavily on her shoulders too!

I was a huge fan of the previous Little Beach Street Bakery books so I couldn’t wait to be reunited with the characters we have all come to know and love and become so familiar with but there is always that worry that as much as you love the characters by book 3 in a series where can you take the characters journey next without feeling like the series has been strung out? I had no reason to worry though as this books plot was just as strong and enjoyable as the first book.

At the beginning of the book the author does say this is the last book in the series (probably) and I was devastated as I don’t want to let Polly and the gang go but now having finished reading this book I think Jenny Colgan has done so much with the characters in this book and has wrapped up the end so perfectly so I think she has made the right decision to part with Polly now.

Although Christmas does feature in the book it isn’t overly festive so I do feel this is a book that can be read and enjoyed anytime of the year. It is an entertaining and sometimes humorous read but it also a book about true love and friendship as well as family issues which will tug at the heart strings but don’t worry Neil is back and will put a smile on your faces!


Make someone’s Christmas this year and buy them a copy of Christmas at the Beach Street Bakery it is sure to warm their hearts this winter.


Hardback                Kindle

Wednesday, 19 October 2016

Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan


Hopeless romantic Eva Jordan loves everything about Christmas. Even if she is spending it alone housesitting a spectacular Fifth Avenue apartment. What she didn’t expect was to find the penthouse still occupied by its gorgeous–and mysterious–owner.

Bestselling crime writer Lucas Blade is having the nightmare before Christmas. With a deadline and the anniversary of his wife’s death looming, he’s isolated himself in his penthouse with only his grief for company. But when the blizzard of the century leaves Eva snowbound in his apartment, Lucas starts to open up to the magic she brings…

This Christmas, is Lucas finally ready to trust that happily-ever-afters do exist?


I have enjoyed the Manhattan With Love series by Sarah Morgan but I am so pleased me are on book three as from the first book in this series it was clear that Eva was going to be my favourite character and so I couldn’t wait for her story and I was desperate for her to find her prince charming.

Uber Genie is still going from strength to strength and with Christmas looming Eva finds herself with the task of transforming the home of a Best Selling crime writer Lucas Blade into a welcome festive wonderland ready for his return home but things do not go to plan when Eva arrives only to find herself tackled to the ground by the man himself. With no option but to try and work around each other due to being snowed in the pair soon open up to each other.

This book got off to a comical start for poor Eva but it soon set the tone for the rest of the book. Eva is a hopeless romantic and someone who wants to bring sunshine to everyone’s life which is the polar opposite to crime writer Lucas Blade.

As ever with a Sarah Morgan novel you can expect a big splash of romance and especially with the romantic gestures but we also know that this author sure can write a Christmas novel and she sprinkles this book with festivity too.

The only thing I did miss in this book is the interaction with Paige, Frankie, Matt and Jake as the author has created such a strong friendship between them all and I loved seeing the gang all come together in the previous books but I can also understand why this was missing from this book because the solitude and isolation with Eva and Lucas being snowed in was what was keeping these characters pushed together not leaving them an option but to let down their barriers and get to know each other.


I really enjoyed this book and have loved the series and I think this book has wrapped the series up perfectly even if I am a little sad to leave our characters go but I look forward to meeting a new cast of characters in the authors next novel .

Kindle                   Paperback

Monday, 17 October 2016

Searching for a Silver Lining Blog Tour Miranda Dickinson


Today I am thrilled to be kicking of the blog tour for #MySilverLining 
and I am joined by the sparkly Miranda Dickinson who is going to share with us what inspired her to write Searching for a Silver Lining.


 I’ve always wanted to write a road trip story and over the years have played around with possible ideas. But when I dreamed up Mattie Bell and Reenie Silver I knew their story needed an incredible journey at its heart. I love the idea of unlikely and unusual friendships, and the possibility of writing one that grows and develops during a physical journey really excited me. 

I’m also a huge fan of 1950s music and fashion, so it was great to be able to work this into the tale, with a modern day story that slowly unlocks secrets from sixty years ago. My love of Fifties’ music is reflected in the book, both in the story and in the chapter headings, each of which is named after a 1950s hit song. 

 Being a singer (my ‘other’ job when I’m not writing), I really wanted to write about a young band chasing after their dreams, in a time where people wanted to believe anything was possible. The dynamics of five completely different characters thrown together in pursuit of a shared dream – and the tensions, rifts and challenges that causes – fascinates me and was really fun to bring to the page. 

 Searching for a Silver Lining is a book about forgiveness, redemption and the power of friendship – themes I’ve written about before but which I feel are so important to us still today. Through Mattie and Reenie’s exciting, dramatic and – it has to be said – slightly barmy journey together, I hope I’ve been able to create a story that makes you laugh, cry, and believe that anything is possible! Thanks so much for reading this blog exclusive! For more, follow my Searching for a Silver Lining blog tour. I really hope you enjoy Mattie’s story!


It began with a promise . . .   Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything . . .   When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong.  Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining will take you on a trip you'll never forget.

Searching for a Silver Lining is out Thursday 20th October 
You can pre-order your copy too.



Paperback            Kindle

Sunday, 16 October 2016

My Story by Jo Malone

My Story by Jo Malone quite simply blew me away. This was one of those few books that you begin reading and find yourself eagerly tuning those pages to see what she reveals next but in the same breath you don’t want to finish.

I am not a fan of biographies but when I heard that Jo Malone was releasing her story my interest was piqued instantly and I knew I had to get a copy as I have always been in awe of this woman and I wanted to see her journey from where she come from to all she has achieved and experienced along the way to where she is now.

I was quite surprised when I began to read the book that Jo Malone had grown up in surrounding areas from me and she was such a down to earth and normal girl next door who suffered the typical struggles of so many families, I always remember my mum and dad commenting on the ice on the insides of the windows too! 

Jo Malone doesn’t hold back she pours everything into this book sharing success stories as well as the hiccups and mistakes she made and learned from along her journey. Her passion and dedication is clear to see throughout the book and the support she received from her wonderful husband and friends does not go unnoticed too.

Before long you really feel as though you are just sitting down having a chat with Jo Malone herself as her voice sounds out from the pages. I found this such an inspiring read and I can’t help but admire this woman as she has got where she is today by starting at the bottom and with pure hard graft and determination she has made it to the top proving that if you really want something in life it is achievable and yes it isn’t easy by any means but it is possible.

I have recently given up my business and have been having doubts and it was great to hear that even the best in the business have times when they have wobbles, doubts and regrets but Jo Malone just dusts herself off and picks herself up and carries on.

I can’t finish this review without mentioning the Scent page at the front of the book which smells absolutely divine and every now and again whilst turning the pages I would catch another whiff! She has me sold, I will be picking up a bottle of Pomelo on my next trip up town.


This book will not disappoint it gives you a wonderful insight of a determined, lovable, passionate and inspirational woman on her journey through life that will keep you hooked the whole way through. I don’t usual keep books I have read as I have nowhere to store them but this one I cannot bare to part with and I know I will be turning back to read through these pages again.

First GEM rating of the year


Hardback              Kindle

Not Just For Christmas by Alex Brown


Kitty, who runs the Spotted Pig Tea-rooms in the picturesque village of Tindledale, thinks she's come to terms with her husband Ed’s death on active duty. When she learns that Ed’s army dog, a black Labrador named Monty, is being retired and needs rehoming, it awakens her heartache once more.

Amber runs the pet parlour, but her love of dogs extends to rescuing abandoned pooches and now her tiny cottage is overflowing with homeless hounds. The only answer is to open a proper rescue centre but where will the money come from? 

Kitty knows she could never take on Monty – it would be too painful, but with more than one dog needing a home this Christmas, is a miracle too much to hope for?


Every time author Alex Brown has released a book I have wasted no time in jumping straight in and I have loved each and every one of her books. I have always been honest in that I am not a fan of short stories as I have never found they have enough depth for me and I am greedy and am always left wanting more but when I saw that Alex Brown was bringing out a short story set in her much loved village of Tindledale I knew there was no way I could miss out on another visit to the village.

Our main character in this novella is Kitty who we have met in the previous Tindledale books running her café The Spotted Pig Café. Kitty is a single mum to the adorable little Teddie after her husband died a true hero. Kitty and Teddie have adapted to life but when Kitty receives a phone call from Mack who was her husband’s best friend, with news that her husband’s dog Monty has been retired and needs a home. Will Monty bring everlasting love to the family or will he bring up too many memories and prove too much for Kitty?

I am over the moon that the novella focuses on Kitty’s story as she is a character who has touched my heart in the Tindledale books and I have desperately wanted the author to explore her character more. The storyline is very moving but also uplifting too with a lovely touch of festivity. We also get a glimpse of some of our other favourite characters who have made an appearance before especially the animal doting Taylor who also holds an important role in this novella.

This is the first novella I have read where the author has managed to put all of the feels from a full length novel into a novella, the characters are well developed and soon work their way into your heart. The storyline also has depth to it thanks to the emotional and challenging issues the author weaves into the plot. There are some touching moments and the one that really touched my heart was the comment Teddie made about her father and Mack's legs ( yes lump to the throat moment at the sensitivity and innocence from a child).

I would say you could read this novella as a standalone but you really are missing out if you haven’t visited Tindledale in the author’s three previous books.


This novella will keep you entertained on your commute to work in the morning stealing your attention in one fell swoop there is no part of this book that allows you a break to put it down so read it in one greedy burst and then get ready to crack open that tin of Quality Street.



Kindle

Thursday, 13 October 2016

Comfort and Joy by Cathy Bramley


With the days now having a chill in the air it is time to embrace those cosy wintry and festive reads.
Comfort & Joy by Cathy Bramley is out today and is currently only 99p.



It’s been a busy year for Verity Bloom at the Plumberry School of Comfort Food, but Christmas Eve is finally here. With delicious treats all wrapped up and the ingredients packed away, Verity is looking forward to a relaxing few days with her new boyfriend. 

Good food, family and friends – it’s a simple recipe for true comfort and joy, and all Verity’s friends in the village are full of excitement about the holidays too. 

But the weather has other plans in store… Relentless rain leads to a power cut that spells disaster for many of Plumberry’s residents. It’s starting to look like this year’s celebrations could be a total washout. 

With dreams of a perfect Christmas dashed, will the last of the festive cheer be swept away in the downpour? Or can the cookery school create a Christmas miracle for everyone Verity holds dear?

I can't wait to delve into this festive feel good read especially after seeing such high praise from the lovely Miranda Dickinson.



Monday, 10 October 2016

All She Ever Wished For by Claudia Carroll

Marriage. It’s a dream come true. Isn’t it?

One wet winter night, two women meet on a bridge. One is Tess Taylor, a personal trainer on the way to meet her boyfriend for date night. The other is Kate King, a celebrity married to a handsome billionaire who just happens to make her cry. In the cold dark evening, there is nothing to link them together but the bridge they shiver on. Little do they know they’ll both hold the key to each other’s future marriage…

The cover for All She Ever Wished For is such and alluring and festive delight that catches the eye instantly and it holds an equal delightful storyline inside.

The chapters alternate between Kate and Tess's point of views and both their individual storys are weaved around the main storyline that connects the pair. Kate has lead a glamourous and full life but things have taken a downward spirial but se is not going down wihout a fight. Tess is the bride to be and as she is counting down the last few weeks until the big day there is still so much to be done and to top it off she receives a letter that is about to put more pressure ont the bride to be.

What I loved about this book was the set in a court hearing which is a first for me and I think this is what had me hooked is having this original storyline.

I found the relationship between Tess and Bernard quite cringey at times especially with his pet name for Tess but at the same time their relationship brought a touch of humour to the storyline too especially with the dreaded in-law introductions!

I found myself gripped by this storyline as I loved Tess and was also intrigued by Kate and as each part of her back story was revealed I grew to love her character too and was routing for her by the end.

The one thing I would say was I was expecting such a heart warming wintery and festive read judging by the cover but this was non existent in the book so if you are looking for a book to get you in the festive spirit then this book wouldn't be what you are looking for and yet it was still a romantic and entertaining read with a touch of light humour too.


Paperback               Kindle

Friday, 7 October 2016

The Cornish Guest House by Emma Burstall

A new couple have arrived in Tremarnock, but will these glamorous strangers fit into village life?

Tremarnock is a small fishing village, crowded with holidaymakers in the summer, but a sleepy Cornish backwater at other times of the year. 

Here Liz has found refuge with her young daughter, Rosie, after her relationship with Rosie's father came unstuck. Now happily married to village restaurant owner, Robert Hart, all seems set for a quiet autumn and merry Christmas. But strangers have bought the local guest house and seem to have big plans. Why is he so charming and confident, but she so frightened? Are they who they say they are? And what are they really doing with the guest house?



I loved Tremarnock by Emma Burstall so much that after finishing the book I booked my first break away to Cornwall, so when her latest novel The Cornish Guest House arrived I put my current read aside and dived straight in to this book eager to see what the characters that we met in the first book have been up to.

In this book we have a new couple along with their little daughter who have moved to Tremarnock and plan to open a boutique guest house. As the community all get ready to welcome the newcomers to the village they soon fall for Luke’s charms but Tabitha is less than a welcoming host and Liz senses from the off that something isn’t quite as it seems.

I loved picking back up with the characters from book 1 especially to see how Liz and Rosie are doing but it was also great to have new characters introduced to the storyline to give it an exciting and fresh feel. I have to admit this storyline although still really enjoyable and leaving me unable to put the book down I did actually guess early on what we would reveal about our new characters so it was slightly predictable but I didn’t mind so much as the book is so well written with the life like characters and the descriptions of Tremarnock once again pulling me into the pages of the book.

The community spirit that I felt so strongly in the first book is back in full force in this book which I loved it gives such a positive, uplifting and cosy feel to the storyline. Once again the author has taken a number of difficult issues that people face in the real world and has weaved this issues around the storyline but tackling them in a delicate and yet informative way that will bring awareness to the issues.


I really hope we see more books set in this village as this is definitely my favourite fictional Cornish village and community that just leaves me wanting more. The Hardback edition really is a big beauty and would look great on the book shelf but if you are trying to save the pennies but still desperate to read this wonderful read get in quick as the kindle version is currently on 99p!( at time of review)


Hardback               Kindle

Thursday, 6 October 2016

We Were on a Break by Lindsey Kelk

Is it a break? Or is it a blip? 
‘You’ve just had a holiday,’ I pointed out, trying not to yawn.
‘Wasn’t that enough of a break?’ ‘I don’t mean that kind of break.’ 

There’s nothing worse than the last day of holiday. Oh wait, there is. When what should have been a proposal turns into a break, Liv and Adam find themselves on opposite sides of the life they had mapped out. 

Friends and family all think they’re crazy; Liv throws herself into work – animals are so much simpler than humans – and Adam tries to get himself out of the hole he’s dug. 

But as the short break becomes a chasm, can they find a way back to each other? Most importantly, do they want to?


You can always rely on a belly laugh novel from Lindsey Kelk and that was just the kind of book I needed so I was over the moon when We Were on a Break arrived through the post.

Liv and Adam embark on the holiday of their dreams in Mexico and Liv is sure she will come back with something sparkly on her finger! Things don’t quite go to plan and things go from one extreme to the other and the pair end up on a break. But if it is true love will they work things out or are they just not destined to be together?

First of all I felt a sense of deja vu when I began reading this book as it sounded like a retelling of the time I want to Mexico with my partner (now husband phewwww) and expected to come home with a diamond on my finger and instead had a memorable experience where it all went wrong (I can thankfully look back and laugh now) so I don’t know if it was because I could relate somewhat to the opening chapter was why I enjoyed the opening chapter so much as I could picture Liv and knew what the thoughts and feelings were that were running through her mind!

The book is told from both Liv and Adam’s points of view which worked perfectly in this book as it allowed us to make our own minds up rather than judge each of them just based on what we are being told by one character. I thought they were both perfect for each other and I was hoping for a happy ever after but as certain things happen along the way I wasn’t sure that they would be able to get back on track again.

There were some great witty moments in this book my favourite being the window incident with Liv! I found this book totally addictive, humorous, romantic and completely unpredictable and so this book is definitely up there with my favourites by Lindsey Kelk.

If you are looking for a witty feel good read then make sure you pick this book up, it won’t disappoint.



Paperback             Kindle





Head along to one of the venues on the tour to meet Lindsey and get your book signed! x





Wednesday, 5 October 2016

Two by Two by Nicholas Sparks


Sometimes the end is just the beginning . . .
Russell Green has it all: a loving family, a successful career and a beautiful house. But underneath his seemingly perfect world, cracks are beginning to appear . . . and no one is more surprised than Russ when the life he took for granted is turned upside down. 
Finding himself single-handedly caring for his young daughter, while trying to launch his own business, the only thing Russ knows is that he must shelter his little girl from the consequences of these changes. 
As Russ embarks on this daunting and unexpected new chapter of his life, a chance encounter will challenge him to find a happiness beyond anything he could ever have imagined.



Nicholas Sparks is an author who I only came across last year ( I know I must have been hiding under a rock!) I have loved each of his books that I have read so far with See Me being my favourite so I was looking forward to reading his latest release Two by Two.

When the book begins we are introduced to a typical family who are trying to balance life, family and work. Vivian decides to give up work to look after their little girl full time which put the financial pressure on Russell but before long things begin to crumble and soon the roles are reversed.

This was the first book by this author that I struggled to get into, and I think it could have been because although we can see the pressure Vivian and Russell are under whilst trying to adapt to this new way of life there just didn’t seem to be any connection or emotion between the characters, but that comment soon came to bite me on the bum as by the end of the book it was highly emotive and there were such strong bonds that I well and truly broke down and was relieved I wasn’t reading the book in public as I would have gained some disgusted looks!

I loved watching Russell build his relationship with his daughter, there were some real tender moments and it all felt so real which made it so moving.

Each of the characters were well developed some who you will love such as Russ and his family but then there is Vivian …… I took an instant dislike to Vivian and as the storyline progressed she really got under my skin. She seemed to think the world revolved around her and she was nothing more than an unlikeable puppet master!

This book focuses not only on family struggles, relationships and friendships but also has a touch of light humour and a very poignant situation which is becoming all too familiar for everyone now days.
After the slow start to this book it soon became an addictive page turner that broke my heart in two so I would definitely recommend this book.




Monday, 3 October 2016

You, Me and Him by Alice Peterson


Josie and Finn are happily married, with promising careers, and a gorgeous young son, George. But despite their apparently enviable lives, George's hyperactivity disorder means the days aren't always easy. Josie's best friend Clarky has always been there for her, and when she finds out she's pregnant again she turns to him for support. She loves George, but it's just such hard work, especially as Josie takes much of the strain. Finn is suspicious. 
What does Clarky want in return for his help? 
And just how close are they really?


You, Me and Him by Alice Peterson focuses on that age old question, can men and women really just be friends without other feelings being involved?

Josie and Clarky have been best friends since childhood and years later they are still as close as ever. Sarah is now married and has an adorable and yet challenging son George but Josie struggles with caring for George and rather than getting support from husband Finn, Josie always relies on Clarky but sometimes three is a crowd.

What I loved about this authors books and also what makes her stand out from other authors who write in the same genre is that each novel introduces us to a character who has some form of disability. Alice Peterson clearly researches in depth the effect each condition has on not only the character with the disability but also how it affects those around them too. Without giving too much away the character with a disability in this book is little George and at times my heart broke for the little lad who just wanted to be “normal” and have friends to play with. Josie was also a loving and caring character who had her flaws but she wasn’t a malicious character. Her friendship with Clarky was something I could relate to as I was in the same situation as her so I was eagerly turning those pages to see what the outcome for their friendship would be. My thoughts on both Clarky and Finn changed as the storyline progressed which was surprising.


This was an addictive and insightful page turner that may make some readers stop and think before they pass judgment on some parents and children’s behaviour in public. Alice Peterson has delivered another memorable and beautifully written book with such vivid characters who I am sad to leave behind.


Kindle                   Paperback

Saturday, 1 October 2016

The Day I Lost You by Fionnuala Kearney


THE DAY I LOST YOU WAS THE DAY I DISCOVERED I NEVER REALLY KNEW YOU

When Jess’s daughter, Anna, is reported lost in an avalanche, everything changes. Jess’s first instinct is to protect Rose, Anna’s five-year-old daughter. But then she starts to uncover Anna’s other life - unearthing a secret that alters their whole world irrevocably . . .

THE DAY I LOST YOU WAS THE DAY YOU TORE OUR FAMILY APART.


The Day I Lost You by Fionnuala Kearney follows the story of Jess who has received the worse news any mother can, her daughter Anna has been reported missing after an avalanche. As Jess is trying to cling on to the hope that her daughter is found she is desperately trying to cling onto her granddaughter Rose and attempting to keep life as stable as possible for her. As days past Jess begins to uncover things about her daughter’s life she had no idea about, did she really know her daughter at all?

This book took a few chapters before I could settle into the storyline but before long I was familiar with characters and could feel the emotions and struggles that Jess was enduring through the pages. The storyline is a very emotive one as the characters deal with the uncertainty of what happened to Anna and Jess is comforted by her rock, her sister Leah who was such a strong and thoughtful character. Theo was one of my favourite characters and a close friend to Jess, he  is facing his own troubles but is still there for Jess in her time of need but it was great to have his storyline weaved so well around the Anna situation.

The book is told from both Jess and Theo’s points of view which allows us to get to know them both on a deeper level but what I also loved was the way we got to know Anna through her blog entries as it allowed us to develop our own picture of her rather than just seeing her through other people’s eyes.

For me this book was like a game of pass the parcel as we begin to unwrap each layer we find yet another part of the secret revealed until we eventually have all the pieces of the puzzle and I was in complete shock! I actually thought until just over half the way through this book that it was rather predictable and my attention was beginning to waver but then there was the unveiling that proved me completely wrong!


Fionnuala Kearney has delivered a heart wrenching read with well-rounded characters that we all hope for a happy ending for them. I actually preferred this book to the author’s debut, I found the storyline flowed perfectly and was very well thought out so this book gets the thumbs up from me.


Paperback               Kindle

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...