Tuesday, 27 June 2017

The Summer of Impossible Things By Rowan Coleman



Today it is my stop on the blog tour for The Summer of Impossible Things by one of my favourite authors Rowan Coleman and I will be sharing my review on her upcoming novel.


If you could change the past, would you?

Thirty years ago, something terrible happened to Luna’s mother. Something she’s only prepared to reveal after her death.

Now Luna and her sister have a chance to go back to their mother’s birthplace and settle her affairs. But in Brooklyn they find more questions than answers, until something impossible – magical – happens to Luna, and she meets her mother as a young woman back in the summer of 1977.

At first Luna’s thinks she’s going crazy, but if she can truly travel back in time, she can change things. But in doing anything – everything – to save her mother’s life, will she have to sacrifice her own?
 


My Review


Having been a fan of Rowan Coleman for years I look forward to each of her releases and this time it feels like the longest wait ever for the release of The Summer of Impossible Things. Now if I am being completely honest here for the first time I was a little bit apprehensive when I read the blurb for this book because I am not a fan of time travel whether it be book or film so this wouldn't have been a book that I would have picked up if it was by another author but I have such admiration for this authors writing that I decided to give it a try.

When Luna and her sister Pea discover that their mother had been keeping a heartbreaking secret from them all their life they make the trip back to their mothers childhood home where Luna soon discovers that she has a remarkable ability to go back in time and potentially right the wrongs all those years ago.

It was a very cleverly thought out plot and Rowan delivered the storyline with her usual addictive and descriptive writing style which made this an enjoyable read. What really shined through in this book was the desperate love Luna had for both her mum and her sister Pea she was willing to literally sacrifice everything without hesitation to be able to protect the ones she loved which made my heart go out to such a selfless beautiful character.

As ever Rowan Coleman has delivered a compelling read with a unique plot with characters that you instantly warm to and a storyline that is unpredictable from start to finish.

This is definitely one of those books that will get you thinking about the changes that you would make if you could go back in time, but each little change could make a dramatic change of direction in your life for the good and the bad so maybe we should just deal with the hand we are given.

I enjoyed this book, maybe not quite as much as all of her other books but that is purely for the fact that the topic is not my kind of thing so anyone who does love time travel will love this book because it is so well executed. 



Hardback               Kindle


Thursday, 15 June 2017

My Sister's Wedding by Vicky Pattison

The Ashworth sisters couldn't be more different. Becky is focused, driven and about to marry her lovely fiancé, Daniel Balfour. Lizzie, on the other hand, bounces from one temp job to another, keeps falling for the wrong man and is a whirlwind of chaos in Becky's otherwise well-ordered life. But they love each other fiercely and the Ashworth way has always been family comes first.
As preparations for Becky and Daniel's wedding get underway, it soon becomes clear that the Ashworth way is not the Balfour way. Daniel's family have never thought Becky was good enough for him but he loves her and that's always been enough for the happy couple. But when Lizzie gets caught in the crossfire between Becky and the Balfours, Becky and Lizzie find themselves drifting apart at a time when they need each other the most. Will they be able to repair the damage before Becky walks down the aisle?


Vicky Pattison's latest novel My Sisters Wedding is by far her best book yet. The storyline focuses on the Ashworth sisters Lizzie and Becky who have such a strong bond and yet they couldn't be more different with Lizzie who can't hold down a job or a relationship and seems to crash at her best friends or sisters house because she doesnt have a permanent residence! Becky however has a steady career and lives with her now soon to be husband but the problem is she has the in-laws from hell who will not be pleased when they find out about the upcoming nuptials.

As with Vicky Pattison's previous books her voice shines through in this novel but I feel this time it doesn't feel like the characters are based on her, the characters are developed well and each bring something special to the storyline. Pattison's experiences when it comes to the media and effects that they can have on relationships and friendships really shows in this book where at times the attention is thrilling but on the other hand as both Lizzie and Becky found out can also become so unbearable and can put relationships to the test.

Nicole who was Becky's sister in-law to be was VILE! She was a character you despise from the first meeting and one that you really want to see Karma catch up with. As much as she was a prickly character she actually brought a great amount of drama to the storyline and at times humour too. I loved both Lizzie and Becky they were both lovely girls and there strong sister bond, although put through the test in this book, still had each others back and show strong solidarity.

This was such a fast paced read that can easily be read in one sitting and fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk will love this book as it had a very similar feel to these ladies books. If you love a splash of romance, scandal, drama and friendship then you will love this book. I hope Vicky Pattison revisits these characters briefly in a future novel to see what becomes of the lovely sisters and unbearable Nicole.


Kindle                      Paperback

Wednesday, 14 June 2017

Holiday in the Hamptons by Sarah Morgan

She’s moved on…
Felicity Knight loves New York. But when she spots her ex-husband in the city, Fliss is desperate to escape!
He’s moved back…
Vet Set Carlyle is back from California to establish his own practice and settle down. When he learns that his ex Fliss still lives close by, that future is looking a whole lot brighter…
Will a perfect escape bring them back together?
With the help of his adorable dog Lulu, and a sprinkling of beachside magic, Seth is determined to make Fliss see he’s never stopped loving her!

When I need a light romantic and uplifting read I always turn to author Sarah Morgan as her books are the perfect choice and never disappoint. Her latest release Holiday in the Hamptons tells the story of Fliss and Seth and for those avid fans of Sarah Morgans books will likely remember Fliss and her twin sister Harriet from her previous books with the work they done for Urban Genie so I already felt like I knew these characters and I couldn't wait to read their story but don't worry if this is your first book by this author as you don't need to have read the previous trilogy to be able to read this book as Fliss and Harriet were only supporting characters.

After a young whirlwind romance that ended in such devastation Fliss and Seth have been separated for 10 years, they have both built successful careers and have been enjoying life but they both have been unlucky in love but could that be because they still hold a piece of each other's heart? 

This was such an enjoyable read that was fast paced with short sharp chapters making it perfect holiday reading. The storyline was full of romance and the chemistry between Fliss and Seth was obvious from their first meeting. 

I havent read many books that have twins as central characters but that was one of the things that I loved about this book not just the strong bond between the sisters but it also helped to bring humor to the book with Fliss pretending to be her sister which just goes to show however much twins look alike they have completely different personalities and skills.

Although this was a real feel good read there was also a more emotive part to the story surrounding Fliss's childhood and how it has affected her growing up and having this weaved into the storyline was perfect as it gave a little more depth to the slightly predictable storyline.  

This was such a pleasant read, I thoroughly enjoyed Fliss's story and I really hope we are treated to Harriet's story next.



Kindle                                 Paperback

Wednesday, 24 May 2017

Island of Secrets by Patricia Wilson

The story started at dawn on the fourteenth of September, 1943 . . .'

All her life, London-born Angelika has been intrigued by her mother's secret past. Now planning her wedding, she feels she must visit the remote Crete village her mother grew up in.

Angie's estranged elderly grandmother, Maria, is dying. She welcomes Angie with open arms - it's time to unburden herself, and tell the story she'll otherwise take to her grave.

It's the story of the Nazi occupation of Crete during the Second World War, of horror, of courage and of the lengths to which a mother will go to protect her children. And it's the story of bitter secrets that broke a family apart, and of three enchanting women who come together to heal wounds that have damaged two generations.


Often when I see a book that promises to be great for fans of much loved authors of mine, my heart does an excited little lurch but typically when I pick up the book I am more often than not left disappointed and confused by the lack of any connection to the authors storytelling or writing style. When Island of Secrets by Patricia Wilson came onto my radar I loved the look of the cover and the sound of the synopsis, I then saw on the cover the sticker advertising " Great for fans of Victoria Hislop". Now I am a huge fan of Victoria Hislop and I have never found another author that I would comfortably say fans of hers would like so I was a little apprehensive but I was eager to see what this book had to offer.

Angie has always been kept in the dark about her mums family but she is now desperate to get to the bottom of why her mum left her family and the little village in Crete where she grew up and in a hope to bring all the family together again for her upcoming wedding she decides to travel to Amiras to meet her family and get some answers but is she really ready to discover the truth?

This book just blew me away and it is worthy of the big statement on that little sticker! I was so captivated by this storyline and I found myself flying through the pages eager to see what revealed next but in the same breathe wanting to savour each chapter as I really didn't want this book to end.

There is so much to love about this book from the stunning traditional setting of the little Villages in Crete which were described so eloquently, the tight knit families who hold such strong traditional family values but right at the heart of it all is the courageous story of such a remarkable woman Maria who is Angie's grandma. Her story tore my heart in two, she was a character who had seen and experienced way to much in life and her desperation as a mother to protect her children and the devastation she was dealing with at the same time was just unthinkable. As Maria was telling Angie her story she told it over a number of days as it was emotionally draining but I was eager to return to her story.
I am ashamed to say that I was ignorant to the atrocious war crimes committed during the occupation of Crete by the German forces in WW2 but after reading this harrowing account it really has encouraged me to find out more. 


There are a lot of focused characters in this book but they all molded around each other really well and they were easy to work out who was who without confusion. There is everything from love to family feuds and secrets to the devastation and loss. The plot is unpredictable from start to finish so I was engrossed and hanging on each and every word. This book will leave a lasting impression on me and will be one that I will find myself recommending to everyone I meet. SO YES fans of Victoria Hislop you will love this book! This will easily be in my top 5 reads at the end of the year.


Kindle                       Paperback

Thursday, 18 May 2017

The Last Piece of my Heart by Paige Toon

Meet Bridget, a successful travel journalist with ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog into a novel. But, after numerous rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition: Nicole Dupre died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel, and the family need someone to finish it. Bridget is just thankful to have her foot in the publishing door. But as she gets to know Nicole’s grieving family, and the woman behind the writing, Bridget’s priorities begin to change …




It is that exciting time of the year again when a new Paige Toon novel is released into the wild and bookworms get ready to race to the bookshops to get their copy and let me tell you her new novel The Last Piece of My Heart will not leave fans disappointed.

Our main character Bridget is a travel journalist who also has a relationship blog but when she gets an incredible opportunity to write the sequel to a bestselling book she jumps at the chance.

Author Nicole Dupre died leaving behind only mere notes for her sequel and her family are keen to have the sequel released but husband Charlie who is still grieving and looking after their baby daughter cannot bare to have Nicole’s books leave the house so there is only one option which is for Bridget to move to Cornwall to work from his home!

Can Bridget deliver a sequel that both the family and readers will be happy with and how will Charlie cope with having Bridget in the family home working on his dead wife’s book?

Once again Paige Toon captured my heart from the start of this book. Bridget was an easy character to love and her infectious humor and warmth shone through the pages and I could see that she would be the one to help Charlie with his grief. Charlie was a very creative character and a true gentleman too, he was still in the early stages of grief when we first met him but he was doing his best to raise their baby daughter.

The book focuses on loss and love which are both topics I love to find in books as in one instant your heart is being broken in two but then there is the uplifting and warming feel to a good romantic storyline too.

I loved the gentle wit that flowed between Bridget and Charlie, I looked forward to their Pizza nights when the pair seemed to be able to relax and humour each other. What really touched my heart though was when Bridget opened up to Charlie about her reasons for not having her own children and that in turn set a beautiful path of watching Bridget form such a beautiful relationship with April and this is what I will always remember from this book.


I thoroughly enjoyed this book, although it didn’t knock my favourite off the top spot it was still such a beautiful and touching read.


Paperback                Kindle

Tuesday, 16 May 2017

Final Giveaway!


The Final Giveaway!
A copy of The Hourglass 
A Weekly Organiser 
A beauty and the beast mug perfect for any bookworm!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway number 4


This is the second to last giveaway and up for grabs this time is a Hardback Copy of The Night Visitor by Lucy Atkins and a Bookish notebook.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, 10 May 2017

Giveway number 3


Here is Giveaway number 3, I couldn't resist doing a Lesley Pearse giveaway as in my opinion Dead to Me is Lesley Pearse at her best.

This is also a worldwide giveaway but please read the T&Cs
GOOD LUCK!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, 9 May 2017

Giveaway number 2


Let's carry on with the celebrations with Giveaway number 2!
Again this is open worldwide but please read the T&Cs 

Up for grabs is a copy of  Lyrebird for fans of Cecelia Ahern, I have yet to read this one but have seen many good reviews on this book so hopefully it will be one the winner loves. Also included is a sticker weekly organiser and a pen.

Good Luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Light we Lost by Jill Santopolo

11th September 2001. Lucy and Gabe meet in New York on a day that will change their lives – and the world – forever. As the city burns behind them, they kiss for the very first time.
Over the next thirteen years they are torn apart, then brought back together, time and time again. It’s a journey of dreams, of desires, of jealousy, of forgiveness – and above all, love.
As Lucy is faced with a devastating choice, she wonders whether their love is a matter of destiny or chance.
…what if this is how their story ends?



The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo is such a remarkable debut that captured my heart. The authors voice shouts from the pages and it feels as though she is talking directly to the reader in such an open and honest way that soon pulls you in and melts your heart.
Lucy and Gabe had such a powerful and intense romance but when they both have to make an important decidion regaring their passion for their careers and wanting to make a difference to the world their relationship comes to an emotional end. As Lucy tries to get on with building her life her thoughts constantly return to Gabe, can she truly ever feel the love she has for Gabe with someone else or are they destined to be together again?
This book will leave a lasting impression on me as I found that it was such a thought provoking read that had me looking back at my life and the choices I have made and how different my life may have been if I had taken a different path and I am sure that every reader who falls in love with this book will find themselves looking back at their life choices.
Lucy was such an honest and passionate character who like all of us is not perfect and makes her own mistakes and faces her own struggles but we watch her as she grows and faces these different moments and choices through her life and we can feel her raw emotion and pure love that she has so even when she is making wrong choices your heart still goes out to her as you know what led her to her actions.
Although at times I felt that Gabe was selfish I still couldn't help but admire his passion and the work that he done but I just felt like he was missing out on the most precious gift in life and with each communication with Lucy I was longing for him to return.
You will definitly have your heart strings pulled and may ever shed a tear too as by the time I had finished this book I just sat feeling emotional and drained at the same time. If you are looking for an compelling romance that also covers loss and looks at life's paths then this book will blow you away. I can not recommend this book enough and I am really looking forward to future releases by this author.




Kindle                          Hardback

Monday, 8 May 2017

6 Today!


Today I want to say a big THANK YOU to you all for your continued support.
My Blog is celebrating reaching its 6th year which is something I am so thrilled about and so proud of.
This last year has seen a big change in my personal circumstances and this has meant that I find the time I have free to read is limited and I had been toying with stopping the blog but I enjoy interacting with you all, finding new books you have loved and also sharing my views on the books I have read.

Thank you to all of you who have shared my blog with friends and a big thank you to all of the wonderful and generous Authors and Publishers who continue to send me the advanced copies allowing me to get the reviews up ready for you all to read around publication day.

So come and celebrate with me this week on the blog, enter the giveaways so be in with a chance of winning some wonderful reads.

Thank You.
Rea
-x- 



This Giveaway is open Worldwide ( Please read T&Cs )



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

The Second Chance Tea Shop by Fay Keenan

Following the tragic death of her beloved husband, Anna Hemingway decides it's time for a fresh start. So Anna and her three-year-old daughter Ellie move to a picture-perfect cottage in the beautiful village of Little Somerby, and when she takes over the running of the village tea shop, Ellie and Anna start to find happiness again.
But things get complicated when Matthew Carter, the owner of the local cider farm, enters their lives. Throughout a whirlwind year of village fetes and ancient wassails, love, laughter, apple pie and new memories, life slowly blossoms again. But when tragedy strikes and history seems to be repeating itself, Anna must find the strength to hold onto the new life she has built.
This beautiful, life-affirming debut novel marks the beginning of the Little Somerby series, and promises to make you smile, cry, reach for a cream tea, and long for a life in the perfect English countryside.


Having lost my reading mojo I found myself browsing through the Amazon Kindle chart and came across The Second Chance Tea Shop by Fay Keenan, the cover and title instantly drew me in and once I read the synopsis it had me sold and I wasted no time in getting stuck in.

After the loss of her husband Anna decides it is time for a fresh start for her and her adorable little daughter Ellie and so she returns to her childhood village of Little Summerby to be close to her best friend and to have the chance of a new career running the village Tea Shop. As she paves a new life in her new home things are looking up but with a possible romance around the corner with the handsome Matthew Carter will she be able to open her heart again and get her happy ever after?

This book was the perfect read for me that I discovered at just the right time. I was instantly pulled in to the storyline from the opening chapter and Anna soon touched my heart and had me longing for her new start in Little Summerby to be a successful one. 

There are a number of key characters in this book but one of my favourite alongside Anna has to be Matthew Carter's daughter Meridith who was such a friendly and mature teen who brought a touch of humor to the book with her less discreet match making and dating tips! 

Although there is a big Teashop craze gracing the bookshelves recently this one doesn't feature heavily around the Teashop which as much as I love a cosy community tea shop with the hustle and bustle this book didn't feel like it was missing anything by not featuring the teashop more, we were still treated to some delicious mouthwatering cakes to keep our tummy rumbling!

This book deals with love, loss and new beginings which will take you on a rollercoaster of emotions and keep you gripped from start to finish. I loved the way the author managed to set a idyllic scene for us in Little Summerby, I still fell like we have more to see from this gorgeous little village and I hope that the author returns to the village and the characters in a future book because this was a wonderful debut that has left me wanting more.


Kindle                      Paperback

Saturday, 22 April 2017

Then. Now. Always by Isabelle Broom

Twenty-eight year old Hannah is ready for an adventure. She and her colleagues are in Spain for a month to film a documentary, and it's a dream come true. Not least because Hannah will get to spend long summer days with Theo, her boss (and gorgeous crush). It couldn't be a more perfect setting to fall in love...
If only Tom (Hannah's best friend and cameramen) and Claudette (the presenter) would stop getting in the way...
Then things become even more complicated when Nancy, Hannah's half-sister arrives. What on earth is she doing here?
For just once in her life, can't Hannah have one perfect summer, free of any drama?

I have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of Isabelle Broom’s new release Then.Now.Always after reading her previous two books that had me completely captivated by her idyllic settings. I was longing to see what breath-taking location she would whisk us away to in her new book.

Hannah spent her teen holiday with friend Rachel in the stunning Spanish village of Mojacar, it is a place that has always stayed with her so when she gets the chance to return for work with her Handsome boss Theo and best friend Tom and the diva French Claudette she jumps at the opportunity.
Finally Hannah is on Theo’s radar and she is keen to spend more time with her crush but Tom and Claudette doesn’t make this easy for her and with the added surprise arrival of her sister Nancy her chances of getting any closer to Theo are slim.

Mojacar was not somewhere I had ever heard of before reading this book but it is now a destination that has flown to the top of my wish list to visit now. Isabelle Broom has captured the true charm and beauty of this inviting paradise that had me googling holidays on Thomson straight away. There was no need to look up pictures of this stunning village as the authors attention to detail when writing about this place just brought it to life and I could vision it perfectly in my mind.

As well as the breath taking scenery Mojacar has to offer Isabelle Broom also educates us in an entertaining way on the various history and knowledge surrounding Mojacar too especially surrounding the Indalo man who is a frequent feature throughout the book.

Hannah is an easy character to love she is a friendly, loyal character even though there is a stubborn jealous side to her too. Her love for Mojacar is clear to see throughout the book just as much as her love for her her boss! She has a wonderful friendship with co-worker Tom and although his character had a messy situation caught in the middle at points through the book I still loved him. As for Nancy and Claudette I didn’t know who I wanted to slap more but one of these characters gradually redeemed herself later in the book.
As with Isabelle Broom’s previous books this is perfect holiday reading and if like me you won’t be getting a holiday this year then this book will whisk you away to a perfect location and will leave a lasting impression on you.


Kindle                    Paperback 

Tuesday, 18 April 2017

Spring at Blueberry Bay by Holly Martin

Bella has always had a sunny outlook and caring nature, despite recently falling on hard times. When she finds a handsome homeless man on her doorstep, her kind heart tells her she must help him. So, she invites Isaac into her cottage and into her life in ways she could never have imagined…

But Isaac is not what he seems. He’s keeping a huge secret from Bella, yet he never expected to fall for this open, generous and charming woman. 

Bella can’t ignore the chemistry between her and Isaac, but she’s had her trust badly broken in her past. Will she run when she learns the truth about Isaac, or will he be the one man who can help Bella believe in love again?





Spring at Blueberry Bay is the first book I have read by Holly Martin, the synopsis really called out to me so I wasted no time in downloading my copy and starting it immediately but I never expected to finish it the same day.

Bella Roussel has not had the best start in life and now she finds herself jobless and struggling financially with only enough porridge for the next day so she is pinning all her hopes on the job interview the following day. What she didn’t expect as she approached her house is to see a homeless guy laying outside her house, she does no more than to offer him a place to sleep that night out of the wind.

Isaac has never been offered a place to stay before, typically he would be ignored or at best given food or money but this kind woman has invited him in to her home. Now he really feels guilty at the secret he is keeping.

Bella Roussel is a genuine kind hearted and loveable character, yes she seemed very naïve and also has vulnerability about her too but this all adds to the charm of her character. She was still a very determined and strong woman too who wanted to stand on her own two feet but she also has trust issues and she had built up walls so high to protect herself from being hurt again.
I loved Isaac even if his actions were wrong at the beginning part of the book I could see his reasons behind what he done and I forgave him straight away. He was a very charming and ambitious character who I loved and hoped he would get his happy ever after.

The book is set on Hope Island and the author describes the setting beautifully making it easy to view the vibrant houses, the stunning views and the characteristics of the Island easily in my mind. The author has such a light and easy writing style that flows effortlessly making this the perfect read to take away with you on holiday this year. Full of romance and a few steamy scenes too this is the perfect read for hopeless romantics but what I also loved was the light humour too, I found myself at times chucking away along with the characters without even realising it which just shows how easy the characters were to connect too.


I really enjoyed this book and I would not hesitate to pick up another by this author, I will be sad to leave Hope Island and the characters behind I do hope the author revisits these characters in a future novel to see how they are doing.


Kindle                   Paperback 

Saturday, 15 April 2017

Paper Hearts & Summer Kisses by Carole Matthews


Today it is my stop on the Paper Chain tour for one of my favourite authors new books Paper Hearts & Summer Kisses by the fabulous Carole Matthews.

REVIEW

Carole Matthews is back with another charming read in Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses. I only picked this book up to briefly read the first chapter but ended up completely hooked and finished the book in one sitting as I couldn’t bear to put this book down.

Single mum Christie Chapman has for years made the long commute into London for work each day to keep a roof over her sons head. What little time she has at home she spends her time crafting and watching the Creative Craft channel feeding her passion and uber talent for craft often with the reluctant help from her son. Recently son Finn has been increasingly missing time from school feeling poorly and Christie is struggling to juggle everything but can the handsome Max give her an offer she can’t refuse?

This book ticked every box for me, I found it uplifting and heart wrenching at the same time with a fabulous love triangle with that typical will they won’t they question keeping us guessing. I have to hold my hands up and say I have never really been into crafts in anyway but even I found myself excited by the topic in this book and I think that was helped by Christie’s passion for it that just pours through the pages.

I adored the relationship between Christie and son Finn it was so endearing to read as they had such a special bond, Christie has raised such a polite and loving son and it is clear that Finn appreciates everything his mum does for them.

I definitely found whilst reading this book that it got me thinking and really makes you put things into perspective and get your priorities right. We are all faced with opportunities throughout our life like Christie that could take our lives down a completely different path but it’s that point at the crossroads where we battle between playing it safe and actually taking a leap of faith and chasing that dream and watching Christie battle through those thoughts and weighing up the pro’s and con’s had me shouting to just take that leap!

This is definitely up there with one of my favourites of Carole Matthew’s books and fans will not be disappointed but just be warned this is not a book that you will be able to sneak a few chapters here and there as it will have you hooked from the opening chapter.





This is such a wonderful book that should be shared with friends. The wonderful publishers at Little Brown have given me a copy to give to someone and I want to give it away to one of my lovely followers because it is thanks to all of your support that my blog is still going strong nearly 6 years on!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Kindle                   Paperback

Sunday, 9 April 2017

This Love by Dani Atkins

Sophie stopped believing in happy endings a long time ago, but could this love change all of that?

Sophie Winter lives in a self-imposed cocoon - she's a single, 31-year-old translator who works from home in her one-bedroom flat. This isn’t really the life she dreamed of, but then Sophie stopped believing in dreams when she was a teenager and tragedy struck her family.

So, to be safe, she keeps everyone at arm’s length. Sophie understands she has a problem, but recognising it and knowing how to fix it are two entirely different things.

One night a serious fire breaks out in the flat below hers. Sophie is trapped in the burning building until a passer-by, Ben, sees her and rescues her.

Suddenly her cocoon is shattered - what will be the consequences of this second life-changing event?



One thing I have come to know and expect from Dani Atkins books is that they are packed full with emotion so I will always need a tissue to hand, so I was well prepared when I picked up This Love.

When Sophie Winters was fifteen her brother who she idolised tragically died. Sophie and her family have never properly dealt with their grief and so Sophie prefers to keep herself to herself and not let anyone in. One night when the downstairs neighbours party soon turns into devastation when it catches fire Sophie is trapped in her flat above with the fire threatening her life, there is only one way out… the window.

Ben catches sight of Sophie in the burning building and doesn’t hesitate in doing all he can to help this woman to safely escape.

The opening chapter of this book pulled me in right from the very first page. That first chapter was so fast paced and had me on edge already thanks to this eventful start as I felt Sophie’s desperation and fear flowing through the pages, a woman who was already broken now ready to shatter and I was willing her to make it through.

Ben is a chivalrous hero, he goes above and beyond to be able to help Sophie both during and after the accident, he was an easy character to love from the get go and I was hoping he would be able to help Sophie finally begin to let people in and for her to start truly living her life.

I had my theories as to what was to emerge through the storyline and although I guessed correctly at some it still shocked me when they were revealed and the great thing was there were also things that I never see coming either so there was still that element of devastating suspense. This book covers so much from romance and friendship to grief and self discovery there really is something for everyone in this book.


Each time I read a novel by this author I get completely choked up and I never expect that her next novel will ever be able to beat her previous but she continues to develop more heart-breaking plots and loveable vulnerable characters who capture my heart each time. I absolutely loved this book and know this will not disappoint those who have loved each of her previous books as it is truly a wonderful poignant read.

Kindle                    Paperback

Friday, 7 April 2017

The Stolen Child by Sanjida Kay


Zoe and Ollie Morley tried for years to have a baby and couldn't. They turned to adoption and their dreams came true when they were approved to adopt a little girl from birth. They named her Evie. 

Seven years later, the family has moved to Yorkshire and grown in number: a wonderful surprise in the form of baby Ben. As a working mum it's not easy for Zoe, but life is good. 

But then Evie begins to receive letters and gifts. 
The sender claims to be her birth father. He has been looking for his daughter. 

And now he is coming to take her back...



After reading Sanjida Kay's debut Bone by Bone last year I have been waiting patiently for the release of her second book and having now finished reading The Stolen Child it is safe to say that the curse of book two didn't hit this author as this book was even better than her debut.

After failing to conceive Zoe and Ollie take the next step and decide to adopt a beautiful baby girl who was born with the effects of having a drug addict as a mother.

Seven years later and with the addition of their little boy too their family is complete but not without its struggles of getting the work life balance right. When the family begin to see a change in little Evie they know something isn't right and when they find a card to Evie from her "real daddy" and gifts too they fear that their little girl will be taken.

This was such a cleverly written plot that pulled the wool right over my eyes and led me down so many different paths of suspicion, each one leading me further from the truth. The storyline really was rather disturbing and terrifying as we are well aware of grooming occurring in the real world so you can't help but feel sick in the pit of your stomach whilst watching Evie being sucked in by the gifts and the loving messages and seeing her begin to trust in them and see her begin to cover up to conceal the gifts to protect them from others knowledge.

The ending was a very realistic ending too which rounded this book off perfectly. This is one of those disturbing and thought provoking reads that will leave a mark on me and one I urge you to read if you are looking for a sinister and gripping read.



Kindle                      Paperback

Friday, 24 March 2017

The Escape by C.L Taylor

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn't.
The stranger knows Jo's name, she knows her husband Max and she's got a glove belonging to Jo's two year old daughter Elise.
What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo's own husband turn against her.
No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there's only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.

I have been a huge fan of C.L Taylor her books have always kept me on edge and in complete suspense all the way through so I have been eagerly awaiting the release of The Escape to see what the author has lined up for us next.

When Jo Blackmore finishes work to go and collect her daughter Elise from nursery she is approached by a woman asking for a lift and as she gets into Jo’s car it soon becomes clear that this woman is about to shatter Jo’s world when she makes a threat to Elise’s safety unless Jo gets her husband to return what he has stolen from the woman. As the days go on it becomes apparent that it wasn’t an empty threat and she fears for her daughters safety but will anyone believe Jo or will it just be put down to her mental health issues.

The opening chapter pulled me in immediately and I felt that familiar sinister feel to the authors storylines that I have come to know and love. Interestingly I didn’t warm to Jo and I can’t quite put my finger on the reason why other than possibly because there was a little part of me that didn’t quite trust her. The storyline had me hooked the whole way through and I found myself picking the book up at every spare moment eager to see what was going to happen next.
The only reason I am giving this book a 4 star and not a 5 is that I worked out very early on who I could and could not trust so I didn’t have that constant suspicion that I usually have in this authors books but I still enjoyed watching events unfold but there was still that part of me hoping that my instincts were about to be proven wrong. 

This is another gripping fast paced read by C.L Taylor that will have readers hooked from the first page.

Kindle                     Paperback

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...