Saturday, 22 April 2017

Then. Now. Always by Isabelle Broom

Twenty-eight year old Hannah is ready for an adventure. She and her colleagues are in Spain for a month to film a documentary, and it's a dream come true. Not least because Hannah will get to spend long summer days with Theo, her boss (and gorgeous crush). It couldn't be a more perfect setting to fall in love...
If only Tom (Hannah's best friend and cameramen) and Claudette (the presenter) would stop getting in the way...
Then things become even more complicated when Nancy, Hannah's half-sister arrives. What on earth is she doing here?
For just once in her life, can't Hannah have one perfect summer, free of any drama?

I have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of Isabelle Broom’s new release Then.Now.Always after reading her previous two books that had me completely captivated by her idyllic settings. I was longing to see what breath-taking location she would whisk us away to in her new book.

Hannah spent her teen holiday with friend Rachel in the stunning Spanish village of Mojacar, it is a place that has always stayed with her so when she gets the chance to return for work with her Handsome boss Theo and best friend Tom and the diva French Claudette she jumps at the opportunity.
Finally Hannah is on Theo’s radar and she is keen to spend more time with her crush but Tom and Claudette doesn’t make this easy for her and with the added surprise arrival of her sister Nancy her chances of getting any closer to Theo are slim.

Mojacar was not somewhere I had ever heard of before reading this book but it is now a destination that has flown to the top of my wish list to visit now. Isabelle Broom has captured the true charm and beauty of this inviting paradise that had me googling holidays on Thomson straight away. There was no need to look up pictures of this stunning village as the authors attention to detail when writing about this place just brought it to life and I could vision it perfectly in my mind.

As well as the breath taking scenery Mojacar has to offer Isabelle Broom also educates us in an entertaining way on the various history and knowledge surrounding Mojacar too especially surrounding the Indalo man who is a frequent feature throughout the book.

Hannah is an easy character to love she is a friendly, loyal character even though there is a stubborn jealous side to her too. Her love for Mojacar is clear to see throughout the book just as much as her love for her her boss! She has a wonderful friendship with co-worker Tom and although his character had a messy situation caught in the middle at points through the book I still loved him. As for Nancy and Claudette I didn’t know who I wanted to slap more but one of these characters gradually redeemed herself later in the book.
As with Isabelle Broom’s previous books this is perfect holiday reading and if like me you won’t be getting a holiday this year then this book will whisk you away to a perfect location and will leave a lasting impression on you.


Kindle                    Paperback 

Tuesday, 18 April 2017

Spring at Blueberry Bay by Holly Martin

Bella has always had a sunny outlook and caring nature, despite recently falling on hard times. When she finds a handsome homeless man on her doorstep, her kind heart tells her she must help him. So, she invites Isaac into her cottage and into her life in ways she could never have imagined…

But Isaac is not what he seems. He’s keeping a huge secret from Bella, yet he never expected to fall for this open, generous and charming woman. 

Bella can’t ignore the chemistry between her and Isaac, but she’s had her trust badly broken in her past. Will she run when she learns the truth about Isaac, or will he be the one man who can help Bella believe in love again?





Spring at Blueberry Bay is the first book I have read by Holly Martin, the synopsis really called out to me so I wasted no time in downloading my copy and starting it immediately but I never expected to finish it the same day.

Bella Roussel has not had the best start in life and now she finds herself jobless and struggling financially with only enough porridge for the next day so she is pinning all her hopes on the job interview the following day. What she didn’t expect as she approached her house is to see a homeless guy laying outside her house, she does no more than to offer him a place to sleep that night out of the wind.

Isaac has never been offered a place to stay before, typically he would be ignored or at best given food or money but this kind woman has invited him in to her home. Now he really feels guilty at the secret he is keeping.

Bella Roussel is a genuine kind hearted and loveable character, yes she seemed very naïve and also has vulnerability about her too but this all adds to the charm of her character. She was still a very determined and strong woman too who wanted to stand on her own two feet but she also has trust issues and she had built up walls so high to protect herself from being hurt again.
I loved Isaac even if his actions were wrong at the beginning part of the book I could see his reasons behind what he done and I forgave him straight away. He was a very charming and ambitious character who I loved and hoped he would get his happy ever after.

The book is set on Hope Island and the author describes the setting beautifully making it easy to view the vibrant houses, the stunning views and the characteristics of the Island easily in my mind. The author has such a light and easy writing style that flows effortlessly making this the perfect read to take away with you on holiday this year. Full of romance and a few steamy scenes too this is the perfect read for hopeless romantics but what I also loved was the light humour too, I found myself at times chucking away along with the characters without even realising it which just shows how easy the characters were to connect too.


I really enjoyed this book and I would not hesitate to pick up another by this author, I will be sad to leave Hope Island and the characters behind I do hope the author revisits these characters in a future novel to see how they are doing.


Kindle                   Paperback 

Saturday, 15 April 2017

Paper Hearts & Summer Kisses by Carole Matthews


Today it is my stop on the Paper Chain tour for one of my favourite authors new books Paper Hearts & Summer Kisses by the fabulous Carole Matthews.

REVIEW

Carole Matthews is back with another charming read in Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses. I only picked this book up to briefly read the first chapter but ended up completely hooked and finished the book in one sitting as I couldn’t bear to put this book down.

Single mum Christie Chapman has for years made the long commute into London for work each day to keep a roof over her sons head. What little time she has at home she spends her time crafting and watching the Creative Craft channel feeding her passion and uber talent for craft often with the reluctant help from her son. Recently son Finn has been increasingly missing time from school feeling poorly and Christie is struggling to juggle everything but can the handsome Max give her an offer she can’t refuse?

This book ticked every box for me, I found it uplifting and heart wrenching at the same time with a fabulous love triangle with that typical will they won’t they question keeping us guessing. I have to hold my hands up and say I have never really been into crafts in anyway but even I found myself excited by the topic in this book and I think that was helped by Christie’s passion for it that just pours through the pages.

I adored the relationship between Christie and son Finn it was so endearing to read as they had such a special bond, Christie has raised such a polite and loving son and it is clear that Finn appreciates everything his mum does for them.

I definitely found whilst reading this book that it got me thinking and really makes you put things into perspective and get your priorities right. We are all faced with opportunities throughout our life like Christie that could take our lives down a completely different path but it’s that point at the crossroads where we battle between playing it safe and actually taking a leap of faith and chasing that dream and watching Christie battle through those thoughts and weighing up the pro’s and con’s had me shouting to just take that leap!

This is definitely up there with one of my favourites of Carole Matthew’s books and fans will not be disappointed but just be warned this is not a book that you will be able to sneak a few chapters here and there as it will have you hooked from the opening chapter.





This is such a wonderful book that should be shared with friends. The wonderful publishers at Little Brown have given me a copy to give to someone and I want to give it away to one of my lovely followers because it is thanks to all of your support that my blog is still going strong nearly 6 years on!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Kindle                   Paperback

Sunday, 9 April 2017

This Love by Dani Atkins

Sophie stopped believing in happy endings a long time ago, but could this love change all of that?

Sophie Winter lives in a self-imposed cocoon - she's a single, 31-year-old translator who works from home in her one-bedroom flat. This isn’t really the life she dreamed of, but then Sophie stopped believing in dreams when she was a teenager and tragedy struck her family.

So, to be safe, she keeps everyone at arm’s length. Sophie understands she has a problem, but recognising it and knowing how to fix it are two entirely different things.

One night a serious fire breaks out in the flat below hers. Sophie is trapped in the burning building until a passer-by, Ben, sees her and rescues her.

Suddenly her cocoon is shattered - what will be the consequences of this second life-changing event?



One thing I have come to know and expect from Dani Atkins books is that they are packed full with emotion so I will always need a tissue to hand, so I was well prepared when I picked up This Love.

When Sophie Winters was fifteen her brother who she idolised tragically died. Sophie and her family have never properly dealt with their grief and so Sophie prefers to keep herself to herself and not let anyone in. One night when the downstairs neighbours party soon turns into devastation when it catches fire Sophie is trapped in her flat above with the fire threatening her life, there is only one way out… the window.

Ben catches sight of Sophie in the burning building and doesn’t hesitate in doing all he can to help this woman to safely escape.

The opening chapter of this book pulled me in right from the very first page. That first chapter was so fast paced and had me on edge already thanks to this eventful start as I felt Sophie’s desperation and fear flowing through the pages, a woman who was already broken now ready to shatter and I was willing her to make it through.

Ben is a chivalrous hero, he goes above and beyond to be able to help Sophie both during and after the accident, he was an easy character to love from the get go and I was hoping he would be able to help Sophie finally begin to let people in and for her to start truly living her life.

I had my theories as to what was to emerge through the storyline and although I guessed correctly at some it still shocked me when they were revealed and the great thing was there were also things that I never see coming either so there was still that element of devastating suspense. This book covers so much from romance and friendship to grief and self discovery there really is something for everyone in this book.


Each time I read a novel by this author I get completely choked up and I never expect that her next novel will ever be able to beat her previous but she continues to develop more heart-breaking plots and loveable vulnerable characters who capture my heart each time. I absolutely loved this book and know this will not disappoint those who have loved each of her previous books as it is truly a wonderful poignant read.

Kindle                    Paperback

Friday, 7 April 2017

The Stolen Child by Sanjida Kay


Zoe and Ollie Morley tried for years to have a baby and couldn't. They turned to adoption and their dreams came true when they were approved to adopt a little girl from birth. They named her Evie. 

Seven years later, the family has moved to Yorkshire and grown in number: a wonderful surprise in the form of baby Ben. As a working mum it's not easy for Zoe, but life is good. 

But then Evie begins to receive letters and gifts. 
The sender claims to be her birth father. He has been looking for his daughter. 

And now he is coming to take her back...



After reading Sanjida Kay's debut Bone by Bone last year I have been waiting patiently for the release of her second book and having now finished reading The Stolen Child it is safe to say that the curse of book two didn't hit this author as this book was even better than her debut.

After failing to conceive Zoe and Ollie take the next step and decide to adopt a beautiful baby girl who was born with the effects of having a drug addict as a mother.

Seven years later and with the addition of their little boy too their family is complete but not without its struggles of getting the work life balance right. When the family begin to see a change in little Evie they know something isn't right and when they find a card to Evie from her "real daddy" and gifts too they fear that their little girl will be taken.

This was such a cleverly written plot that pulled the wool right over my eyes and led me down so many different paths of suspicion, each one leading me further from the truth. The storyline really was rather disturbing and terrifying as we are well aware of grooming occurring in the real world so you can't help but feel sick in the pit of your stomach whilst watching Evie being sucked in by the gifts and the loving messages and seeing her begin to trust in them and see her begin to cover up to conceal the gifts to protect them from others knowledge.

The ending was a very realistic ending too which rounded this book off perfectly. This is one of those disturbing and thought provoking reads that will leave a mark on me and one I urge you to read if you are looking for a sinister and gripping read.



Kindle                      Paperback

Friday, 24 March 2017

The Escape by C.L Taylor

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn't.
The stranger knows Jo's name, she knows her husband Max and she's got a glove belonging to Jo's two year old daughter Elise.
What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo's own husband turn against her.
No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there's only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.

I have been a huge fan of C.L Taylor her books have always kept me on edge and in complete suspense all the way through so I have been eagerly awaiting the release of The Escape to see what the author has lined up for us next.

When Jo Blackmore finishes work to go and collect her daughter Elise from nursery she is approached by a woman asking for a lift and as she gets into Jo’s car it soon becomes clear that this woman is about to shatter Jo’s world when she makes a threat to Elise’s safety unless Jo gets her husband to return what he has stolen from the woman. As the days go on it becomes apparent that it wasn’t an empty threat and she fears for her daughters safety but will anyone believe Jo or will it just be put down to her mental health issues.

The opening chapter pulled me in immediately and I felt that familiar sinister feel to the authors storylines that I have come to know and love. Interestingly I didn’t warm to Jo and I can’t quite put my finger on the reason why other than possibly because there was a little part of me that didn’t quite trust her. The storyline had me hooked the whole way through and I found myself picking the book up at every spare moment eager to see what was going to happen next.
The only reason I am giving this book a 4 star and not a 5 is that I worked out very early on who I could and could not trust so I didn’t have that constant suspicion that I usually have in this authors books but I still enjoyed watching events unfold but there was still that part of me hoping that my instincts were about to be proven wrong. 

This is another gripping fast paced read by C.L Taylor that will have readers hooked from the first page.

Kindle                     Paperback

Thursday, 23 March 2017

Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen

No one ever disappears completely...
You leave for work one morning.
Another day in your normal life.
Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn't been at work for weeks.
It's as if he never existed.
But that's not possible, is it?
And there is worse still to come.
Because just as you are searching for him
someone is also watching you.


When Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen was recommended to me I was so intrigued by the premise of this book that I abandoned my current read and started this book immediately and I wasn’t disappointed.
When Hannah arrives home from work with exciting news she cannot wait to share with her partner Matt but as soon as she enters their home she knows something is amiss.
Matt has gone…..

Not only has Matt left but there is no trace that he was ever there, all his belongings have gone even the new TV and in its place sits her old tv from before they were together. It is clear he has erased himself from every part of her life even removing his number from her phone. Hannah has no idea where Matt has gone or why but she is determined to find out.

This book manages to grab your attention instantly from that first chapter. So many thoughts were going through my mind as to what could have happened to make Matt leave and the reason for his bizarre actions of putting everything back to the way it was before they met. I have read numerous amount of books where a partner leaves unexpectedly but it was the way that he went to the effort of completely removing himself without a trace that played on my mind and had me intrigued.

The storyline did dip a little in the middle part of the book and I did reach a point where I thought it was predictable and obvious who was involved but then the storyline dramatically changes and all though my suspicion was confirmed it was only a drop in the ocean to what was finally revealed. I couldn’t read the last few chapters fast enough, I was so eager to see what was going to happen next.
This was a fantastic, gripping and mind boggling storyline that I thoroughly enjoyed and would encourage you all to read.


Paperback              Kindle

Monday, 20 March 2017

The Little Teashop of Lost and Found by Trisha Ashley


Today it is my stop on The Little Teashop of Lost and Found Blog Tour and I am sharing my review of this book with you and all I can say is this is by far my favourite book by Trisha Ashley.





Alice Rose is a foundling, discovered on the Yorkshire moors above Haworth as a baby. Adopted but then later rejected again by a horrid step-mother, Alice struggles to find a place where she belongs. Only baking – the scent of cinnamon and citrus and the feel of butter and flour between her fingers – brings a comforting sense of home. So it seems natural that when she finally decides to return to Haworth, Alice turns to baking again, taking over a run-down little teashop and working to set up an afternoon tea emporium. Luckily she soon makes friends – including a Grecian god-like neighbour – who help her both set up home and try to solve the mystery of who she is. There are one or two last twists in the dark fairytale of Alice’s life to come . . . but can she find her happily ever after?



The Little Teashop of Lost and Found was the perfect book to come along at the right time. Feeling my reading mojo slipping away I needed something to read that would sweep me up and lose me in a bright cosy setting with an uplifting plot and that is exactly what I found with this book.

Alice Rose has never felt grounded, she has lost loved ones along the way and with the knowledge that she was left on the Yorkshire Moors as a baby merely hours old she has a yearning to get to the bottom of who her real parents are to see if she can find a sense of belonging and finally settle down and plant her roots. Taking a big risk she decides to open her own Afternoon Tea Emporium whilst she is back in Haworth but is she taking on too much and will she feel the need to move on once again?

I loved how at the end of each chapter we hear from the person who had an involvement in Alice being left on the Moors so we get to build a picture from the snippets we are told about as to what happened. Alice is a very strong and determined woman who is not afraid of hard work often taking on too many things at once but she throws herself into everything wholeheartedly so she is an easy character love and one you really hope finds her happy ending.

I loved the Giddingses, this family were so loving and welcoming they were so supportive to Alice and they are a great addition to this wonderful novel. The romance that slowly blossoms in the book was one that I was championing from the sidelines, I wanted someone to come and sweep Alice of her feet and love her for who she is and appreciate all she has had to face.

I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this book and this is my favourite book by Trisha Ashley, this is definitely a book I would recommend.




Hardback                Kindle

Friday, 10 March 2017

The Queen of Wishful Thinking by Milly Johnson


When Lewis Harley has a health scare in his early forties, he takes it as a wake-up call. So he and his wife Charlotte leave behind life in the fast lane and Lewis opens the antique shop he has dreamed of. Bonnie Brookland was brought up in the antiques trade and now works for the man who bought out her father’s business, but she isn’t happy there. So when she walks into Lew’s shop, she knows this is the place for her. 

As Bonnie and Lew start to work together, they soon realise that there is more to their relationship than either thought. But Bonnie is trapped in an unhappy marriage, and Lew and Charlotte have more problems than they care to admit. Each has secrets in their past which are about to be uncovered. 

Can they find the happiness they both deserve?


One of my all time favourite books is The Teashop on the Corner by Milly Johnson, it is one of the few books I haven't dared to lend to friends in case the spine breaks or it fails to return! As much as I have loved Milly Johnson's other wonderful books none of them have come close to capturing my heart like The Teashop on the Corner until I read her new release The Queen of Wishful Thinking.

When Bonnie is sacked from her job she wastes no time finding a new job as she walks into the Pot of Gold antiques shop owned by Lewis Harley. Bonnie and Lewis have a real eye and passion for antiques and together they could make a real success of The Pot of Gold, it soon becomes their haven to escape from their own marriages which are anything but a success.

We return to Spring Hill Square where The Pot of Gold sits next to The Teashop on the Corner and just like in that book the community spirit is still plentiful in this book and the friendliness and warmth of the supporting characters is something I love.

Troubled relationships for both Bonnie and Lew feature heavily in this book and especially from Bonnie's marriage there were alarm bells ringing and all I hoped for was for her to find her inner strength and take the support from her friends to make the move to put herself first. Although her story casts a dark shade across the book the joy and light is balanced out with the comings and going in the shop to give a great balance to the storyline.

Bonnie and Lew were both such strong and lovable characters who I wasn't ready to leave behind at the end of this book so I really hope Milly Johnson feels the same and will revisit them in anther of her books in the future.

Fans of Milly Johnson will adore this book and any new readers will find themselves immersed in this authors wonderful storytelling.


Kindle                    Hardback

Friday, 3 March 2017

Before the Rains by Dinah Jefferies


Today the Before the Rains Blog Tour stops here at Rea's Book Reviews where I am thrilled to be able to finally share with you my review for this flawless and captivating read.



1930, Rajputana, India. Since her husband's death, 28-year-old photojournalist Eliza's only companion has been her camera. When the British Government send her to an Indian princely state to photograph the royal family, she's determined to make a name for herself. But when Eliza arrives at the palace she meets Jay, the Prince's handsome, brooding brother. While Eliza awakens Jay to the poverty of his people, he awakens her to the injustices of British rule. Soon Jay and Eliza find they have more in common than they think. But their families - and society - think otherwise. Eventually they will have to make a choice between doing what's expected, or following their hearts. . .

Dinah Jefferies is such a talented author whose books always leaves a lasting impression on me and leaves me bereft at the end of each book and her latest book Before the Rains was no exception.
The book is set back in 1930 in India and author Dinah Jefferies has brought Juraipore to life with her exquisite and vivid writing style, I could picture the great array of vibrant colours, the impressionable grand palace the whole setting was just described in such wonderful detail.

Eliza is our heroine who has returned to India after the death of her husband and now a keen photographer she is sent by the British Government to capture pictures of the royal family and she sees this as an exciting opportunity to really use her passion and make people aware of her talent.
When Eliza meets the devastatingly handsome Jay who is brother to the Prince they soon find they have a special bond and enjoy each other’s company but with Eliza being a British widow she will not be accepted in the Royal Family.

This was another flawless read by Dinah Jefferies that had me engrossed from the very first chapter when we meet Eliza as a child living in India in a very tragic opening chapter.

The beautiful romance that develops between Eliza and Jay was so endearing and I longed for them to find a way to have their happy ever after but it also showed that different cultures have different ideas and beliefs that put love on a back seat compared to your duty.

It was very clear to see that the author had done a lot of research for this book and has evidently spent some time in India soaking up the sights and the culture and pouring every last detail into this book. This brought such depth and realism to the storyline which helped to make this such a captivating read.

I feel like a broken record when I write a review for Dinah’s books because they are always such beautiful storylines that gives such wonderful insight and they never disappoint so I can never find any criticism which is why I find myself constantly recommending her books and longing for her next release.



Hardback                  Kindle

Saturday, 18 February 2017

Cover Reveal

Today I am so excited to be able to share an EXCLUSIVE Irish cover reveal with you for one of my most anticipated books of 2017 by one of my favourite authors who I call the
Queen of Emotional writing.....

The Woman at 72 Derry Lane by Carmel Harrington.




Set on a beautiful leafy street in Dublin, the novel explores the unlikely friendship between two neighbours. Beautiful, serene Stella, who appears to have it all, and gruff, bad-tempered Rea, who seems to have lost it all…including her marbles if you believe the neighbourhood gossip. But appearances can be deceiving and both women discover that behind closed doors everyone has a secret they are desperate to keep…

I love the sound of this novel and I love the look of the cover too, what are your thoughts on The Woman at 72 Derry Lane?

Paperback       Kindle

The Woman at 72 Derry Lane is due for release 1st June for the Irish release followed by the Uk release in September.

Saturday, 11 February 2017

A Song For Tomorrow Giveaway


Earlier this week I shared my review with you for a Song For Tomorrow ( If you missed it click HERE to read it ).
I was actually lucky enough to get a copy of this book last year so I finished reading this book a long time ago and yet this book has stayed on my mind ever since and Alice Martineau's story is one that I feel everyone would find encouraging, uplifting and heartbreaking all at the same time and so everyone should read this book.

I have decided to do a giveaway to give one lucky reader who hasn't got their hands on this book yet the chance to read this stunning novel.
This is a worldwide giveaway.
GOOD LUCK!





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sisters and Lies by Bernice Barrington

One hot August night, Rachel Darcy gets the call everyone fears. It's the police. Her younger sister Evie's had a car crash, she's in a coma. Can Rachel fly to London right away?
With Evie injured and comatose, Rachel is left to pick up the pieces of her sister's life. But it's hard fitting them together, especially when she really doesn't like what she sees.
Why was Evie driving when she doesn't even own a licence?
Who is the man living in her flat and claiming Evie is his girlfriend?
How come she has never heard of him?
The more mysteries Rachel uncovers the more she starts asking herself how well she ever really knew her sister. And then she begins to wonder if the crash was really the accident everybody says it is.
Back in hospital, Evie, trapped inside an unresponsive body, is desperately trying to wake up. Because she's got an urgent message for Rachel - a warning which could just save both their lives . . .

Sisters and Lies follows the story of two Irish sisters Rachel and Evie. Rachel is a successful writer but Evie has had a more turbulent life and when Rachel receives a phone call to say her sister has been in a car crash in her boyfriends car and as a result is in a coma Rachel travels to London to be by her sisters bedside and is determined to get to the bottom of why her sister was driving when she doesn’t even have a license and to her knowledge doesn’t have a boyfriend! Things just don’t add up but who can Rachel trust and will Evie ever wake up from her coma?

I really liked how this book was told from Rachel’s POV as she is trying to piece together the pieces of her sisters life and also told from Evie’s POV as she is stuck in her coma unable to communicate and is reflecting back on what happened to result in her accident and also looking back on her life growing up. I loved both sisters although they didn’t seem to have a great bond they both were likeable characters although Evie did take longer for me to warm to as due past actions and way of life but as the storyline progressed and we get to know Evie through her own thoughts rather than other people’s perception I really felt for her and could see in a warped way why she did what she did.

Evie's boyfriend Donnagh was a shady character, from the moment I met him I was on guard this guy was too squeaky clean and yet he wasn't devoted to sitting around his girlfriends bed every day but I also felt like it was to obvious that he had any involvement into Evie's accident. I found I was gripped the whole way through and I loved that the author pulled the wool over my eyes with her twist, I never for a moment came close to discovering the truth. 

The storyline is fast paced and there is a flow of secrets revealed which kept me interested, waiting to see what would be revealed next to see if I could solve the mystery before Rachel. I think this was a noteworthy debut by Bernice Barrington and I think fans of Liane Moriarty and Jane Shemilt will enjoy Sisters and Lies so this is well worth adding to your TBR piles.


Friday, 10 February 2017

Cover Reveal.


I do love an exciting cover reveal, and today I am able to share with you the cover for Heidi Swain's upcoming release Coming Home to Cuckoo Cottage.
What are your thoughts on the cover?
Personally I love the vibrant colours that are used and this is definitely Heidi's best cover yet in my opinion!

Blurb

When Lottie Foster’s grandmother’s best friend Gwen dies, she leaves Lottie her lovely home, Cuckoo Cottage. 
Lottie loves the cottage but Matt, a charming local builder, points out that beneath its charm it is falling apart. Luckily he is always on hand to help with the problems that somehow seem to keep cropping up. But is he just a bit too good to be true? Certainly Will, Lottie’s closest neighbour, seems to think so. 
Lottie plans to set up her own business renovating vintage caravans. She hasn’t told anyone about the project she has cooked up with Jemma from The Cherry Tree Café to repurpose Gwen’s old caravan and turn it into a mobile tearoom. 
But before she can finally enjoy living with her legacy she must uncover who she can trust, and who to avoid. And with two men vying for her attention, can she find love in her new home…? 


COMING HOME TO CUCKOO COTTAGE IS OUT ON 13th JULY 
YOU CAN PRE-ORDER BELOW

Thursday, 9 February 2017

A Song for Tomorrow by Alice Peterson


Tom fell in love with Alice the moment he saw her. He realises that being with her will not be easy, but she is a force of nature, a burst of sunlight in his otherwise ordinary world. 

Some people might look at Alice and think she has everything, but Alice knows she is not like other women. Her life is complicated, unpredictable, difficult. Alice does not like pity. All she wants to do, has ever wanted to do, is sing. 

Alice has been told not to follow her dreams. So has Tom. But when fate has already dealt a tough hand, it’s time to stop listening to everyone else and only follow their hearts.



Alice Peterson has always been a favourite author of mine and her book By My Side has always sat on the top spot. When I read the synopsis for A Song for Tomorrow I knew this was going to be a deep moving read so I had my tissues at the ready.

Alice Martineau has always dreamed of becoming a singer but words from her past have prevented her from chasing her dream but when she gets yet another rejection from her modelling career she makes the decision to finally make her dream a reality.

When Tom sets eyes on Alice for the first time it was like love at first sight and before long a beautiful romance begins to blossom but can Tom cope with the struggles and unpredictability that Alice deals with on a daily basis?

I feel as though my heart has been pulled out and ripped into a thousand pieces and maybe taking this book with me to read whilst having my hospital treatment was not a good idea judging by the looks I received with tears running down my face! I haven’t been so moved by a book since reading Me Before You and because of Alice Peterson’s beautiful and insightful writing style mixed with the fact that this storyline is actually based on the real life of the remarkable Alice Martineau fight to achieve her dreams I found this book more personal and emotional.

As we have come to expect with Alice Peterson’s books the protagonist has a disability and in this book Alice suffers from Cystic Fibrosis. The author always explores the conditions of her characters in such depth and she brings such detailed awareness of how each characters life is affected by their condition. I was aware of CF but reading this book has opened my eyes up to the daily struggles that sufferers face. There are many people in the world who long to become singers and it is an extremely difficult industry to get in to and yet add to the mix the symptoms of CF with the damage to her lungs, the constant need to cough and struggle to breathe and yet Alice was still determined to fight her way to the top and I was routing for her the whole way through I really wanted to see her achieve her dream as this is someone who really deserves to make it.

Although this was a really emotive read I found this such a beautiful and uplifting storyline as Alice brings us many highs as we watch her on her journey to attempt to become a singer, she is such a strong, understanding and determined character who grabs life with both hands and will do everything she can to enjoy each day and push to get what she dreams of. I found I had such admiration for Alice and her outlook on life can sure teach us a thing or two.

I loved the relationship between Alice and the loveable Tom, like any new relationships there are ups and downs as we begin to get to know one and other but Tom also was learning about CF and the fact that he went out of his way to read up on the condition when this was a new relationship and could have walked away showed what a lovely guy he was and how much he adored Alice I found him really endearing.

The author has put her heart and soul into this novel and it is felt on each and every page and I can imagine chapter 75 was a difficult one to write but I had goosebumps reading this chapter as there was so much emotion put into this and it was just beautiful and this was where I broke.

Since finishing this book my interest has been piqued and I wasted no time in going online and finding Alice’s album Daydreams and her voice is liquid gold she really has a strong talent and I hope that what Alice Peterson has managed to capture in this book will help to introduce this wonderful woman’s music to many readers to enjoy.


I never believed Alice Peterson would knock my favourite By My Side off the top spot but this book has achieved that and I am sure this will be my book of the year 2017 it sure will be an incredibly hard one to beat but one thing is for sure this storyline will stay with me for a long time as it has truly captured my heart.

Rare Gem Rating

Paperback                Kindle

Alice Martineau's CD Daydreams

Monday, 6 February 2017

The Things I Should Have Told You by Carmel Harrington

Every family has a story…

But for the Guinness family a happy ending looks out of reach. Olly and Mae's marriage is crumbling, their teenage daughter Evie is on a mission to self-destruct and their beloved Pops is dying of cancer. Their once strong family unit is slowly falling apart.

But Pops has one final gift to offer his beloved family – a ray of hope to cling to. As his life's journey draws to a close, he sends his family on an adventure across Europe in a camper van, guided by his letters, his wisdom and his love.

Because Pops knows that all his family need is time to be together, to find their love for each other and to find their way back home…

The Queen of Emotional writing has struck again! Carmel Harrington always delivers a novel that will pull at the heart strings and bring a tear to your eye and her novel The Things I Should Have told You is no exception.

Pops is the heart of the Guinness family but he knows his time is coming to an end but he is determined to do one more thing before his time is up and that is to attempt to help them all get away from their struggles that they have all faced in this difficult year but will it be enough to repair Mae and Ollys marriage?

This was such an endearing read that had me hooked from the opening chapter. We lean early on in the book that the family have been through the mill this year not just with Pops but also the strain on Mae and Olly’s marriage as well as a tragic incident that had daughter Evie fighting for her life when her little brother Jamie found her unconscious. The Guinness family were so down to earth and like most families they have their flaws but being handed this wonderful opportunity at this time was just what they needed.

Carmel Harrington has such a wonderful way of bringing her characters to life that before long you forget they are fictional characters and you come to care about them and just wish for a happy ending for them. I loved each and every character in this book and because most of the book is told from both Mae and Olly’s points of view we really get to know these characters well but we also have a good insight into what is going on in Evie’s life too which I thought was handled in a very tender way. Of course we also have little Jaime to who brought a few laughs along the way which broke up the emotion of the book from time to time.

I was getting quite excited to see where the Guinness’s journey would take them next and although they covered many different places on their adventure the storyline never felt rushed and the author also described each area on great detail so it was easy to visualise. One thing I did love was the idea of making sure that each area they visited they would eat the local cuisine and I think I need to be braver and make this one of my goals next time I am away.


This is another corker from Carmel Harrington that will not disappoint, I never seem to find any constructive criticism to give after reading one of her books as they tick all of the boxes and yet she still manages to come back bigger and better each year. 

Paperback               Kindle

Sunday, 5 February 2017

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

HOW DO YOU KNOW WHO TO TRUST WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TRUST YOURSELF?
I look at my hands. One of them says FLORA BE BRAVE.
Flora has anterograde amnesia. She can't remember anything day-to-day: the joke her friend made, the instructions her parents gave her, how old she is.
Then she kisses someone she shouldn't, and the next day she remembers it. It's the first time she's remembered anything since she was ten.
But the boy is gone. She thinks he's moved to the Arctic.
Will following him be the key to unlocking her memory? Who can she trust?

When I read the synopsis for The One Memory of Flora Banks I was instantly intrigued and I couldn’t wait to meet Flora.

Flora has suffered with anterograde amnesia since the age of 10, unable to retain new memories she relies on her parents and best friend Paige help and her notes on her arms to keep her safe. When Flora kisses her best friends boyfriend Drake before he sets off to Svalbard she wakes up the next day and for the first time she remembers. Flora is certain that Drake is the key to repairing her memory and she is desperate to find him as she takes a courageous journey to attempt to find him.

The opening chapter pulled me straight into the storyline and I was instantly worried for Flora who we soon learn is such a brave and loving character who I loved. The first part of the book I really enjoyed and we really got an insight into how confusing and worrying things can be for Flora when she constantly has to discover that she is no longer the little 10 year old girl she thinks she is.

Flora goes on a remarkable journey which for someone suffering from anterograde amnesia was a difficult and dangerous thing to do but her determination drove her to carry on to achieve her goal of finding Drake. She seemed to be one of these characters that everyone loved and cared for and where ever she turned she seemed to find people who would look out for her and she made some great friends along the way.

This was quiet a hard review to write and rate because I really enjoyed the plot and I loved Flora and the ending was very clever and brought a lump to my throat so this should have easily have been a 4 star read for me but  for a big chunk of the middle part of the book I found my attention begin to waver and I was on the verge of skim reading which I hate but because of the constant repetition it became a bit of a chore. I can understand why the author kept writing the same things over and over again to give us an insight into what life is like for Flora who constantly has to absorb the same information continuously but for me the repletion was too much and at one point I did consider putting the book down but I am pleased I carried on as the author pulled the storyline back with the wonderful ending.
All in all this was an enjoyable read and I am sure other readers will not find the repetition a problem , one thing for sure is that everyone will fall in love for the courageous Flora.



Kindle                      Paperback

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...