Wednesday, 24 May 2017

Island of Secrets by Patricia Wilson

The story started at dawn on the fourteenth of September, 1943 . . .'

All her life, London-born Angelika has been intrigued by her mother's secret past. Now planning her wedding, she feels she must visit the remote Crete village her mother grew up in.

Angie's estranged elderly grandmother, Maria, is dying. She welcomes Angie with open arms - it's time to unburden herself, and tell the story she'll otherwise take to her grave.

It's the story of the Nazi occupation of Crete during the Second World War, of horror, of courage and of the lengths to which a mother will go to protect her children. And it's the story of bitter secrets that broke a family apart, and of three enchanting women who come together to heal wounds that have damaged two generations.


Often when I see a book that promises to be great for fans of much loved authors of mine, my heart does an excited little lurch but typically when I pick up the book I am more often than not left disappointed and confused by the lack of any connection to the authors storytelling or writing style. When Island of Secrets by Patricia Wilson came onto my radar I loved the look of the cover and the sound of the synopsis, I then saw on the cover the sticker advertising " Great for fans of Victoria Hislop". Now I am a huge fan of Victoria Hislop and I have never found another author that I would comfortably say fans of hers would like so I was a little apprehensive but I was eager to see what this book had to offer.

Angie has always been kept in the dark about her mums family but she is now desperate to get to the bottom of why her mum left her family and the little village in Crete where she grew up and in a hope to bring all the family together again for her upcoming wedding she decides to travel to Amiras to meet her family and get some answers but is she really ready to discover the truth?

This book just blew me away and it is worthy of the big statement on that little sticker! I was so captivated by this storyline and I found myself flying through the pages eager to see what revealed next but in the same breathe wanting to savour each chapter as I really didn't want this book to end.

There is so much to love about this book from the stunning traditional setting of the little Villages in Crete which were described so eloquently, the tight knit families who hold such strong traditional family values but right at the heart of it all is the courageous story of such a remarkable woman Maria who is Angie's grandma. Her story tore my heart in two, she was a character who had seen and experienced way to much in life and her desperation as a mother to protect her children and the devastation she was dealing with at the same time was just unthinkable. As Maria was telling Angie her story she told it over a number of days as it was emotionally draining but I was eager to return to her story.
I am ashamed to say that I was ignorant to the atrocious war crimes committed during the occupation of Crete by the German forces in WW2 but after reading this harrowing account it really has encouraged me to find out more. 


There are a lot of focused characters in this book but they all molded around each other really well and they were easy to work out who was who without confusion. There is everything from love to family feuds and secrets to the devastation and loss. The plot is unpredictable from start to finish so I was engrossed and hanging on each and every word. This book will leave a lasting impression on me and will be one that I will find myself recommending to everyone I meet. SO YES fans of Victoria Hislop you will love this book! This will easily be in my top 5 reads at the end of the year.


Kindle                       Paperback

Thursday, 18 May 2017

The Last Piece of my Heart by Paige Toon

Meet Bridget, a successful travel journalist with ambitions to turn her quirky relationship blog into a novel. But, after numerous rejections from publishers, she accepts an alternative proposition: Nicole Dupre died leaving behind a bestselling novel and an incomplete sequel, and the family need someone to finish it. Bridget is just thankful to have her foot in the publishing door. But as she gets to know Nicole’s grieving family, and the woman behind the writing, Bridget’s priorities begin to change …




It is that exciting time of the year again when a new Paige Toon novel is released into the wild and bookworms get ready to race to the bookshops to get their copy and let me tell you her new novel The Last Piece of My Heart will not leave fans disappointed.

Our main character Bridget is a travel journalist who also has a relationship blog but when she gets an incredible opportunity to write the sequel to a bestselling book she jumps at the chance.

Author Nicole Dupre died leaving behind only mere notes for her sequel and her family are keen to have the sequel released but husband Charlie who is still grieving and looking after their baby daughter cannot bare to have Nicole’s books leave the house so there is only one option which is for Bridget to move to Cornwall to work from his home!

Can Bridget deliver a sequel that both the family and readers will be happy with and how will Charlie cope with having Bridget in the family home working on his dead wife’s book?

Once again Paige Toon captured my heart from the start of this book. Bridget was an easy character to love and her infectious humor and warmth shone through the pages and I could see that she would be the one to help Charlie with his grief. Charlie was a very creative character and a true gentleman too, he was still in the early stages of grief when we first met him but he was doing his best to raise their baby daughter.

The book focuses on loss and love which are both topics I love to find in books as in one instant your heart is being broken in two but then there is the uplifting and warming feel to a good romantic storyline too.

I loved the gentle wit that flowed between Bridget and Charlie, I looked forward to their Pizza nights when the pair seemed to be able to relax and humour each other. What really touched my heart though was when Bridget opened up to Charlie about her reasons for not having her own children and that in turn set a beautiful path of watching Bridget form such a beautiful relationship with April and this is what I will always remember from this book.


I thoroughly enjoyed this book, although it didn’t knock my favourite off the top spot it was still such a beautiful and touching read.


Paperback                Kindle

Tuesday, 16 May 2017

Final Giveaway!


The Final Giveaway!
A copy of The Hourglass 
A Weekly Organiser 
A beauty and the beast mug perfect for any bookworm!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway number 4


This is the second to last giveaway and up for grabs this time is a Hardback Copy of The Night Visitor by Lucy Atkins and a Bookish notebook.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, 10 May 2017

Giveway number 3


Here is Giveaway number 3, I couldn't resist doing a Lesley Pearse giveaway as in my opinion Dead to Me is Lesley Pearse at her best.

This is also a worldwide giveaway but please read the T&Cs
GOOD LUCK!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, 9 May 2017

Giveaway number 2


Let's carry on with the celebrations with Giveaway number 2!
Again this is open worldwide but please read the T&Cs 

Up for grabs is a copy of  Lyrebird for fans of Cecelia Ahern, I have yet to read this one but have seen many good reviews on this book so hopefully it will be one the winner loves. Also included is a sticker weekly organiser and a pen.

Good Luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Light we Lost by Jill Santopolo

11th September 2001. Lucy and Gabe meet in New York on a day that will change their lives – and the world – forever. As the city burns behind them, they kiss for the very first time.
Over the next thirteen years they are torn apart, then brought back together, time and time again. It’s a journey of dreams, of desires, of jealousy, of forgiveness – and above all, love.
As Lucy is faced with a devastating choice, she wonders whether their love is a matter of destiny or chance.
…what if this is how their story ends?



The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo is such a remarkable debut that captured my heart. The authors voice shouts from the pages and it feels as though she is talking directly to the reader in such an open and honest way that soon pulls you in and melts your heart.
Lucy and Gabe had such a powerful and intense romance but when they both have to make an important decidion regaring their passion for their careers and wanting to make a difference to the world their relationship comes to an emotional end. As Lucy tries to get on with building her life her thoughts constantly return to Gabe, can she truly ever feel the love she has for Gabe with someone else or are they destined to be together again?
This book will leave a lasting impression on me as I found that it was such a thought provoking read that had me looking back at my life and the choices I have made and how different my life may have been if I had taken a different path and I am sure that every reader who falls in love with this book will find themselves looking back at their life choices.
Lucy was such an honest and passionate character who like all of us is not perfect and makes her own mistakes and faces her own struggles but we watch her as she grows and faces these different moments and choices through her life and we can feel her raw emotion and pure love that she has so even when she is making wrong choices your heart still goes out to her as you know what led her to her actions.
Although at times I felt that Gabe was selfish I still couldn't help but admire his passion and the work that he done but I just felt like he was missing out on the most precious gift in life and with each communication with Lucy I was longing for him to return.
You will definitly have your heart strings pulled and may ever shed a tear too as by the time I had finished this book I just sat feeling emotional and drained at the same time. If you are looking for an compelling romance that also covers loss and looks at life's paths then this book will blow you away. I can not recommend this book enough and I am really looking forward to future releases by this author.




Kindle                          Hardback

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...