Saturday, 24 October 2020

Meet Me In London by Georgia Toffolo

 



Aspiring clothes designer Victoria Scott spends her days working in a bar in Chelsea, and her evenings designing vintage clothes, dreaming of one day opening her own boutique. But these aspirations are under threat from the new department store opening at the end of her road. She needs a Christmas miracle, but one is not forthcoming.

Oliver Russell’s Christmas is not looking very festive right now. His family’s new London department store opening is behind schedule, and on top of that his interfering, if well meaning, mother is pressing him to introduce his girlfriend to her. A girlfriend who does not exist. He needs a diversion. Something to keep his mother from interfering while he focuses on the business.

When Oliver meets Victoria, he offers a proposition: pretend to be his girlfriend at the opening of his store and he will provide an opportunity for Victoria to showcase her designs. But what starts as a business arrangement soon becomes something more tempting, as the fake relationship starts to feel very real. But when secrets in Victoria’s past are exposed will Oliver walk away, or will they both follow their hearts and find what neither knew they were looking for…


Meet Me In London is the debut novel by Georgia Toffolo, perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Sarah Morgan.

When a new department store is set to open on Victoria’s doorstep it feels like an unreachable dream of seeing her vintage designs out in the world has just become impossible.

Oliver has been whisked in to save they day when his families new department store is due to open but is way behind schedule and now not only does he have a lot of work on his hands but he also has the pressure from his mum to meet his fianc√© only problem is he hasn’t met her yet himself!

An eventful meeting aligns Victoria and Oliver’s paths, could they help each other in their times of need or will things just get a little too complicated?

This was such a sweet modern love story perfect to cosy up with on these winter nights. Victoria has an incredible talent but she has been tragically hurt in the past in more than one way which has left her confidence in herself wavering and yet she has a heart of gold and is front of the line to put everyone else first and to help anyone in need.

Oliver was a little gentleman, he wasn’t our usual swaggering, uptight business man he was very good at his job but lacked the ability to let love and emotion into his life.

One thing that shines through in this novel is the wonderful supportive tightknit friendship group between Victoria and her girlfriends, it was heartfelt what the girls went through to solidate their friendship and to see the effects this had on each of the girls but no matter what even though they are now all living far apart they are always there for each other in their times of need. We only get little snippets into the actual characteristics of each of the girls and I am intrigued to find out more about each of them so you can imagine how pleased I was when I got to the end of the novel to then find a extract for another book!

The novel was a little predictable but the excitement around the romance and the community spirit in helping small businesses which is more relevant now than ever all made this such an enjoyable read. This book was a winner for me with its engaging characters and its entertaining storyline, I can’t wait to pick up with the characters in Meet Me In Hawaii.


Paperback                    Kindle

No comments:

Post a comment

SITE DESIGNED BY PRETTYWILDTHINGS