Saturday, 30 June 2012

Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

When Fifty Shades of Grey was first released I remember seing the cover and thinking how bland it looked and then after reading the synopsis it really didn't sound like my kind of read. Over the last few weeks I have lost count of the amount of ladies who have come into the salon clutching their precious copies and raving about it. What really swayed it for me was when friends of mine who don't usually read were all on the social networking sites all thoroughly enjoying it but also giving a word of warning it is a little raunchy ........ well I have news for you it certainly isn't a little raunchy it is pure and utter filth and yet I was hooked !!


Plot
When literature student Anastasia Steele interviews successful entrepreneur Christian Grey, she finds him very attractive and deeply intimidating. Convinced that their meeting went badly, she tries to put him out of her mind – until he turns up at the store where she works part-time, and invites her out.Unworldly and innocent, Ana is shocked to find she wants this man. And, when he warns her to keep her distance, it only makes her want him more.But Grey is tormented by inner demons, and consumed by the need to control. As they embark on a passionate love affair, Ana discovers more about her own desires, as well as the dark secrets Grey keeps hidden away from public view …


No matter how much people warn you about the content of this book you will still be in utter shock when the sexual scenes start it is unlike anything I have ever read in a book and yet it didn't feel cheap and tasteless which I think is thanks to the two main characters Ana and Christian as they are both wonderful characters who have been developed very well.

There is an air of mystery surrounding Christian Grey and his childhood and this really keeps you interested  in the storyline as there is definitely no mystery when it comes to the sex between Christian and Ana as this is very graphic so does not need to leave anything to the imagination!

There have been many reviews saying how poorly written this book is and yes it does have its flaws but yet it is a gripping and entertaining read which has got millions of people reading many who do not usually read!
I think my only negative comment about this book is it did get a little annoying with the constant repetition of Oh my, Oh my, Oh my along with a few other sayings but the author soon makes up for it with more steamy chapters.

One of the most steamy, entertaining books I have every read and I can not wait to get started on book two!


Kindle                      Paperback


Love the sound of this one then why not grab the trilogy?

Paperback               Kindle

Wednesday, 27 June 2012

Revelry by Lucy Lord


Revelry seems to be the most anticipated book by a debut author this summer. The cover of this book reminds me of my old school days when I was buying Club Ibiza and Hedkandi albums as the cover looks similar to their covers with the bold bright letters set on a dark back ground, in my opinion it is an appealing cover and very fitting for the storyline.

One summer can change everything… What happens when a friend breaks the one rule that should never be broken? Best friends Bella and Poppy are living the dream – Notting Hill glamour, Shoreditch lofts, exclusive parties and drop-dead gorgeous men. But sometimes living life to the max catches up with you, and even the strongest friendships can be pushed to the limit. Poppy, Bella and their friends spend the summer having as much fun as they possibly can – from the hedonistic escapades of Ibiza to doing Glastonbury in style. But amongst the laughter come tears, betrayal and backstabbing and one devastating decision threatens to bring it all crashing down. And, once the sunglasses have come off, Bella is forced to question if her lifelong friendship has been broken beyond repair.

The book gets off to a quick start introducing us to all of the main characters of this book who are holidaying in Ibiza, all of them seem to be at that point in their lives where they are care free and enjoying their lives to the max. Although we see a lot of each character the main story revolves around friends Bella and Poppy. I wouldn’t say I warmed to either of their characters which I think is because I have nothing in common with either of them and yet I still found them great characters to read.

The group of friends hang out at various locations including Glastonbury and when the characters are at these places the descriptive writing is great you really feel as though you are there with the characters it is quite clear that the author must have had some personal experiences in these places. Relationships are put to the test in this book and the author creates a shocking storyline which was unpredictable and it was this that kept me turning the pages.

This book really isn’t one for the faint hearted! The book contains a lot of swearing ( especially the C word) which I have to say although I swear like a trooper at times I was still shocked each time it came up and my partner wondered what I was reading when he looked over a couple of times and see the same word over again! There is also a constant use of recreational drugs which is probably my grudge with the book I have read many books where some of the characters take drugs but it seems to play a big part in this book. There are also many crude sex scenes so this really is a book like marmite, you will either love it or hate it!

Revelry is the first book in a Trilogy and I will pick the next book up as I think Revelry has created a good foundation for a follow on I am just  hoping that the characters will develop more in the next book and that the use of continual drugs starts to fade.

Looking for a book full of Glitz and Glamour, Sex and drugs then this is the one for you!


Kindle                       Paperback

Monday, 25 June 2012

Summer Nights by Allie Spencer


One of the best Summer reads for me last year was Summer Loving by Allie Spencer. When I was looking through Amazon to see what new up and coming books were coming out I was shocked to see that Allie Spencer was releasing another book this time called Summer Nights. The book covers are very similar and very appealing perfect for a summer read if ever the sun does decide to come out but just remember to be careful you pick up the right book!


Flora is holidaying in San Francisco and she is eagerly awaiting her boyfriend’s arrival to join her in celebrating her 30th birthday but things don’t go to plan when he dumps her leaving her alone in San Francisco. With only one option Flora seeks out her cousin Bella who lives in San Francisco but Bella has been keeping secrets from her family when it comes to her job with them thinking she is working as a nurse when in fact she is currently singing in an Abba tribute band. It looks like the girls need each other help to get over the difficulties in their lives.


Firstly I was a little surprised by this book as I thought because the title and the cover of the books were so similar I thought it was going to be a carry on from Summer Loving but this wasn’t the case.  We are introduced to a whole new bunch of characters all of whom I loved. Flora was easy to warm to after having her heart broken early on in the book although it is quite clear she is upset she doesn’t mope around for long as her cousin Bella and her friend Lisa soon take it upon themselves to cheer her up and encourage her to get back out on the dating scene again.

If there are any Abba fans out there you will also enjoy this book as Bella is part of an Abba tribute band and you soon have the songs playing in your mind! I love how light hearted the book felt until a certain point where out of nowhere the book takes an emotional turn which only makes the book more appealing. I love the romance in this book to it wasn’t rushed and it was great to read the build up to the relationship between Flora and her love interest.

Another great read from Allie Spencer which will make your perfect holiday read.

Paperback                  Kindle

Saturday, 23 June 2012

Whatever it Takes by Adele Parks


I have only previously read two books by Adele Parks so I still feel like a beginner! Both of the books I have read I enjoyed and so I really wanted to try another of her books so I have just finished her new novel Whatever It Takes.

Eloise is a Londoner through and through. She has a wide group of friends and usually finds herself entertaining for them, she really is living her dream but her husband has lived Eloise’s dream for a long time now and Eloise agrees it is time for them to start living husband Marks dream and move their little family back to his family’s roots in Dartmouth. This is a big step for Eloise as this means a complete lifestyle change and also means leaving best friend Sara behind when her friend needs her close by.

Eloise is looking forward to being closer to her mother in-law Margret but it’s not long after they arrive that they start to notice that Margret is becoming more than a little forgetful. Eloise finds herself trying to adapt to her new life in Dartmouth but is finding she is trying to help everyone around her with their problems but for Eloise who likes everything perfect she may need to face facts that she may not be able to fix everything.

Whatever It Takes is a very emotional book which tackles a number of deep issues such as Alzheimer’s and fertility problems all which are common health problems in day to day life so it was clear that this book was going to be far from a light hearted read.

Eloise was a very loveable and caring character, one of these people who are so kind they don’t see any bad in any one. She loves her life in London but she understands that it would be a nicer way of life for their three daughters to live in Dartmouth and she knows it means a lot for Mark to be closer to his parents so she sacrifices her dream to please her family.

Sara who is Eloise’s best friend (although I really don’t know how!) is far from a loveable character she is a very negative, selfish and most of all jealous character. Sara is desperate or a baby but she has fertility problems and it just doesn’t look like she will become a mum any time soon, now usually hearing this I would be so heartbroken for anyone in this situation and rightly so but I didn’t feel any kind of sorrow for Sara. I didn’t even feel as if it was a true longing for a baby I think it was pure jealousy of what Eloise had with her girls and Sara just wanted to compete.

Adele has brought the subject of Alzheimers into this book which was heart breaking but also it gave a great insight into living with someone with the terrible condition from both how Margret was feeling and also how her family around her coped.

There were a few surprises along the way in this book which only added to what I can only describe as a compelling read but what really shocked me was the ending to this book I am sure there is no way that you could predict the outcome of this book the truth seemed to be right under our nose during the book and yet it is not until it is pointed out to us in black and white that the truth becomes clear which I thought was very clever.

A compelling and emotional read from Adele Parks, which I thoroughly enjoyed. 


Paperback               Kindle

This will brighten your morning!!

I have just woke up and had a little nose through the kindle books on Amazon and have found the best bargain yet on kindle!
Alice Peterson Monday to Friday Man is 20p!
Here is my review I loved it Monday To Friday Man Review

Quick go to this link and grab your copy Quick Quick Quick!

Friday, 22 June 2012

The Quintessential Gemini by Linn Halton

Plot
For twenty-one years, the focus of Katherine Dale’s life has been her work. Love interests and hobbies came and went, but what has always been there for her was her nine to five habit. Until she’s replaced. With her confidence dented, Katherine is angry at life and at herself. She’s ignored hints of “changes to come” in her horoscope forecasts, written by the wonderful and renowned astrologer, Mark Ainsley-Thomas. Mark is now an “A” list celebrity in the UK and his new Agent is determined to raise his profile in America, so he has to take on the new, but talented, astrologer James Kingman to help him run his web-site.

Katherine lives her life according to her daily horoscope. When Katherine finds James has been writing her daily horoscopes rather than Mark, Katherine’s life explodes in confusion and, unexpectedly, love as the three lives become inextricably tangled. 

Now Katherine has to learn that the stars might be telling her that love is going to feature in her life, but when Katherine finds herself implicated in the headlines ‘Mystic Love Triangle Surprise’ she’s just as surprised as everyone else! None of the men in her life are love interests – so what exactly does fate have in store? 

My Opinion


For me this was a fresh storyline as I have never read anything involving horoscopes and I have to say I have never really had any interest in the subject and yet I still enjoyed the storyline. I loved that Katherine had lived her life by her horoscopes and instantly knew that Mark must have stopped writing them and so she confronts the situation which brought a touch of humour to the book.

Main character Katherine was a great character although things seem to happen easily and quickly this is typical of fiction books and is what makes fiction so easy to read! This is chick lit style read but with out the fluffy parts so I think it will suit a wide range of readers.
I liked the set up of this book it is told from each of the three main characters Katherine, Mark and James points of views so we get to see both sides of the story and we get to know the characters on a deeper level.

There seems to be an ease to Linn Halton's writing style  it feels as though the characters are actually sitting talking to us rather than us reading their stories which is very unusual to find. I found it a very quick easy read an ideal Sunday read. Pick this up at a fantastic price on kindle.



Kindle

Thursday, 21 June 2012

Book Lover Heaven

Today there are so many fabulous books being released which ones will you be picking up?

Kindle                     Paperback               Kindle                    Paperback                 Kindle

Paperback               Kindle                     Paperback             Kindle                   Hardback


Kindle                    Paperback                   kindle                    Paperback           Kindle


Paperback


Tuesday, 19 June 2012

What I did on my Holidays by Chrissie Manby


I have only read two books by Chrissie Manby before but I loved both of them.  It is one of the first real summery looking books I have seen so far this year and after reading the synopsis for this book I was already chuckling away.

After months of planning the most perfect romantic holiday Sophie finishes her last day at work and decides to cook a nice meal for Callum but when he still doesn’t arrive later than planned Sophie calls him and he dumps her the night before they are due to jet away to their holiday destination. Sophie is stuck what should she do go on her long awaited holiday or forget about it all together?
Sophie didn’t feel she could go on holiday on her own and so she plans to hide out in her flat in London. She pretends to her family and colleagues that she has jetted away and posts random texts but soon she is recreating her whole holiday in her flat but how long will she be able to keep up the game before someone suspects something?

I absolutely loved this book it is one of the most hilarious books I have read so far this year! When the book starts poor Sophie is looking forward to her holiday with partner Callum until he dumps her and I thought the book was going to be very emotional and I did feel that Chrissie Manby's usual writing style had changed and I was a little worried but from out of nowhere the humour starts and it had me laughing out loud ( in the middle of Costa which isn’t so good!)

Sophie was a fantastic main character she was so entertaining and she felt so life like and I connected with her character right from the first character. I also loved her sister Clare who also brought a lot of humour to the book even if it did mean she was creating more sticky situations for her sister. I think what made this book such a simple read was there was very few characters to get to know and the two characters who featured the most were developed so well.

The book was a quick read at only 308 pages but this was perfect for this book as there was something going on in each chapter which had you turning the pages to see what on earth Sophie and Clare were going to do next and I think if the book was any longer it would have felt a little drawn out. This would be a perfect beach read as it is a very light-hearted and entertaining storyline.

I highly recommend What I Did On My Holidays it was oozing with humour, a real feel good read. I am looking forward to more books by Chrissie Manby.

Paperback                  Kindle

Sunday, 17 June 2012

In The Name of Love by Katie Price


I have only previously read two of Katie Price’s books which was Angel and Crystal but I wasn’t blown away by them enough to pick up her further releases. When I was sent her new book In The Name of Love I was expecting to feel the same about this one so I have had it sitting on the side for a few weeks avoiding picking it up.

I have had various comments on Goodreads, Twitter and Facebook regarding Katie Price since I have started this book many saying they won’t be reading it as they are not a fan of hers. I wouldn’t say I am a fan of her in her usual job role but at the end of the day I love to read and regardless of who is writing the book if I enjoy it or not I will always give my honest opinion. Secondly it is also worth mentioning that Katie writes this book in partnership with Rebecca Farnworth.


In The Name of Love follows Charlie who works as a sports presenter she is holidaying with best friend Zoe  in Barbados when she falls for the gorgeous Spaniard Felipe but Charlie wants be loved for who she is not for what job she does so she keeps it a secret from Felipe but towards the end of their blossoming holiday romance Felipe finds out about Charlie’s secret and thinks she has an ulterior motive to try and sell a story about him now that he is tipped for a medal in the Olympics and so  he slams the door in her face declaring her never wants to see her again.

With the help of meddling friends the couple are brought together again but their relationship seems to be a rollercoaster of events with the odds stacked against their relationship it’s not looking likely to be a happy ever after scenario. Can Charlie solve the major problem that is troubling their relationship?

I love the cover of this book, if I was looking for a holiday read at this time of the year this would definitely be screaming at me from the shelves, ok so the lady on the front of the cover is very typical Katie Price look alike but all in all it is a fabulous summery cover which shouts glam.

The book starts off how I expected very glamorous holidaying in Barbados but the characteristics I assumed I would find in the main character were actually in her best friend Zoe she was the one who was very glamorous took ages getting ready and wearing the must have outfit. Charlie herself was actually a genuinely nice character who didn’t seem to lead the typical celebrity life.

I really didn’t expect to enjoy this as much as I did once the book got half way through I was speeding through the second half of the book and got carried away with the storyline, there were times where I wanted to shake both Charlie and Felipe but I still kept reading even though I was pretty sure I knew how it would end! 
Each of the characters where developed really well even the supporting characters there was never any confusion as to who was who. I took an instant dislike to Darcy who works with Charlie and seems to be the thorn in her side and I was sure that a situation in the book involved her but I was wrong!

The storyline focused alot on equestrian which is an interest of Katie Price and her knowledge is shown in this book. I personally have no interest in horses but the book isn’t taken over with the topic it is just based around it.

I was fully expecting to either not complete this book or be giving it a 2/3 star rating but this really surprised me how much I enjoyed it I am so glad I took a chance on this one I would pick another of her future books up after reading this.
In The Name Of Love is due for release on 21st June in Hardback
Hardback                   Kindle

Sunday in the life of a bookaholic !

A slightly different post today talking about ME!! I woke up this morning and opened yesterdays post and was over the moon to be greeted by this sight!

This will be the first book I have read by Claudia Carroll and I am looking forward to this one I love the cover it is definitely one that I would pick up if I saw it in the shops.

Now I have been putting off reading The Fifty Shades of Grey series as it didn't sound like my kind of read but for weeks now all I keep hearing about is how fabulous this book is and after logging onto facebook last night my top 7 satuses were from people who have started reading it and each of these people do not usually read so it was time I found ot what the fuss was about........ easier said than done!
I went into every store in Town and they all had sold out of the first two. I then went to Tesco and the same there, after asking the shop assistant if they had any out the back only to be told sharply NO (here comes the part were I feel like a criminal!) I then went back round to the books and there is a drawer at the bottom of the books I opened the drawer and there staring at me were all three books as I went to get them out the lady from before who had said NO come around the corner and caught me and gave me a telling off for being in the drawer! I went a funny shade of read grabbed the books and ran off. I think it was at this time that my partner realised I really do have a problem when it comes to books! The things we will do for The Fifty Shades of Grey !

Because they were in the buy 2 for £7 I also got Summer with my Sister as this is what The Fifty Shades of Cake are reading in their book club so I wanted to read the same although I am too far away to attend.

Happy Reading xXx

Wednesday, 13 June 2012

The Taker by Alma Katsu

I am always a little hesitant about reading fantasy books but I did enjoy Twilight and so it was time to have a change from my comfortable chick lit and attempt The Taker by Alma Katsu.

Have you ever loved someone so much that you'd do anything for them? When Dr Luke Findley turns up to his hospital shift in the small town of St Andrews, Maine, he's expecting just another evening of minor injuries and domestic disputes. But instead, Lanore McIlvrae walks into his life - and changes it forever. 


For Lanny is a woman with a past... Lanny McIlvrae is unlike anyone Luke has ever met. Hers is a story of love and betrayal that defies time and transcends mortality - and cannot end until Lanny's demons are finally put to rest. Her two hundred years on this earth have seen her seduced by both decadence and brutality - but through it all she has stayed true to the one true love of her life. Until now.


An unforgettable novel about the power of unrequited love to elevate and sustain, but also to blind and ultimately destroy, The Taker is an immortal love story on an epic scale... 

My Opinion

Now most of you who follow this blog will know I always usually give my own version of the plot of a book but the above is the synopsis taken from the back of the book, so why have I done this? ( no I wasn’t being lazy!) It was reading this synopsis that had me eager to start this book as it sounded like nothing I have read before so I was looking forward to a fresh storyline that I had nothing to compare this book to, truth was I was intrigued just after reading the synopsis.

This book doesn’t start you off gently we are took straight in to a shocking storyline when Dr Luke is at work and Lanny is brought in to be checked over as she is covered in blood and has just admitted to murder so as you can tell quite a quick start. Although Lanny has admitted to murder there is something about her character which intrigued me and for some reason I didn’t feel as if she was a cold blooded murderer.

The beginning part of the book swaps between the current day and 1809 when Lanny was a child we get to see what she was like as a child and then as the book moves along and we see Lanny grow up there is a point in her life where she meets Adair the book then takes another turn and we get to see how Adair became the person he is. As you can tell there is a lot that happens in this book and there are lots of jumping from different characters and different decades but it all moves along so smoothly. Each of the characters are developed very well especially Lanny being our main character her story is told in first person narrative so we really get a first hand take of her thoughts and feelings all the way through her journey.

This is a dark book and at times it made for hard reading through some pretty horrific chapters but having said that it still gave you the urge to keep reading to see what on earth happens next. This is far from a light hearted read that I am used to and yet I couldn’t put it down there was something going on in each chapter with twists and turns occurring under our noses. I think this is a fantastic debut novel for Alma Katsu I am looking forward to reading her sequel The Reckoning to see where she takes her characters next.
Kindle                      Paperback

Monday, 11 June 2012

Hidden Treasures by Fern Britton


I read Fern Britton’s New Beginnings last year but I put it down just after half way through as I was finding it a real challenge to carry on as it wasn’t gripping my attention. I decided to give Fern another try and so decided to read Hidden Treasures.

With her children now off hand it is time for Helen to leave her cheating husband and make a new life for herself. Helen is making her new life in a quaint Cornish village of Pendruggan. Before long Helen is making a new set of quirky friends and has also caught the attention of more than one man’s eye!

Thing is romance is not on the top of Helens list as she wants the chance to be free and independent. Helens best friend from London Penny, is soon heading to Penduggan to start shooting a new T.V series which also brings the help of Helen’s ex, who is intent on getting Helen back but will Helen open her heart to any of these men she has caught the attention of?


I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this book I am glad I gave Fern Britton another try. The book gets off to a great cosy start and introduces us to some typical quirky country folk who were a joy to read. I really loved Simple Tony and I wish he had featured more in this book but maybe in this case less was more.

If you are looking for romance this is a great read for you with a love triangle turning into a steamy love square! The author really kept us guessing when it came to who Helen would end up with, if anyone, but the big shock for me was a relationship which formed between Helen’s best friend Penny and a certain someone!

I really enjoyed this book and found it very hard to put down. I did find the first half of the book was a lot better than the second half because as soon as the whole television slash fame part began in the book my attention started to waiver but it picked up again towards the end. I hope Fern’s next book will leave out any kind of fame/celebrity content as her writing is much more enjoyable when this is not included.

I will be picking up another of Fern Britton’s books in future as I enjoyed this one even though I was a little hesitant to read another one of the author’s books, but this is a pleasant read one that is worth picking up.


Hardback                  Kindle

Thursday, 7 June 2012

Rumours by Freya North

I have always enjoyed books by Freya North with last year’s release Chances being my favourite so when I was asked if I would like to review an early copy of Freya North’s new book Rumours I immediately jumped at the chance.

Stella has had to change careers so as she can bring in a secured regular income to support herself and her son Will after her bitter marriage has come to an end. She begins working as an estate agent but she is soon the talk of the village when rumours start that she is involved with the sale of Longbridge.

Lydia has grown up in the family estate and it holds a vast amount of memories, some good and many emotionally heartbreaking. Lydia now feels the time has come to sell Longbridge as the house is just to much for her now but as the sale of the estate moves along it is not only Lydia who will be in need of a new home., but other residents who have lived on the estate for many years such as the gorgeous, single Xander.

With Stella needing to sell Longbridge for the commission it will bring, will there be a happy ending for all involved?

This really was a charming read. The book sets off at a slow pace as we are introduced to a variety of characters which I was a little worried about in case I started to lose track of who was who but as the book progressed and the characters developed I soon became familiar with each character.

My favourite character by far was the adorable little Will who is Stella’s son. He brought some great humour to the book, he seemed to have an old wise head on his shoulders and I was constantly looking forward to his character re-appearing in this book. The relationship that grows between Stella and Xander felt very realistic they both have had a very difficult pasts when it comes to relationships and so they don’t jump in feet first.
There wasn’t a huge indepth storyline to Rumours which made it a quick and easy yet enjoyable read. The descriptive use of writing that always enjoy from Freya North is seen again in this book especially when talking about Longbridge house and grounds I actually feel as though I have visited this place after reading this book.

Freya North has yet again brought us a delightful read full of humour and loveable characters, I am sure this is one you will want to get your hands on.

Rumours is due out on the 21st June Pre-order your copy below.
Paperback                 Kindle

Monday, 4 June 2012

June Releases

We have some great releases coming out this month which ones will you be adding to your to be read pile?




Paperback                Kindle                    Paperback          Kindle                       Paperback

Kindle                        Paperback           Kindle                   Paperback             Kindle

Paperback               Kindle                     Hardback            Kindle                    Paperback

Kindle                        Paperback            Kindle                   Paperback            Kindle


So which one's will you have on your to be read pile? I have just finished Chrissie Manby's which was great finished it in a couple of hours a very quick read that will have you laughing out loud (review will be up closer to release day but get pre-ordering!) I will definitley be out to grab my copy of I Heart London I loved the previous I Hearts so I NEED this! I have recently finished Rumours by Freya North and if there are any Freya fans out there this book doesn't disappoint. I am a little nervous about Katie Price's new book but I am willing to give at a try and see what I think ( you all know by now how hesitant I am to read books by celebrities!) If any of you have a kindle then Chelsea Wives is on pre-order at the moment for 99p so well worth grabbing it at that price.

Sunday, 3 June 2012

Give away Winner

The moment you have all been waiting for the winner of a signed copy of Alice Peterson's Ten Years On, as selected via random.org is.......................
Rachel Millward

Thank you to every one who took part in this give away.
Please keep your eyes peeled for more up and coming
give away's coming soon!

One Perfect Summer by Paige Toon


I have read all of Paige Toon’s books and loved every one of them. I have been eagerly awaiting the release of One Perfect Summer and when I went into my local bookstore and see it was the last copy so it looks like I wasn’t the only one eager for this book to come out!
This is my favourite cover of Paige Toon’s books, it is quite simplistic and yet still eye-catching and instantly recognisable as one of Paige Toons.

Alice is taking a break in Dorset for the Summer with her mum before she goes off to university. The last thing Alice expects is to fall in love in her six week break but her heart is taken the moment she meets Joe in the local Devon pub. Their relationship grows over the six weeks but a tornado of events happen which see’s the couple ripped apart and Alice is heartbroken as her holiday is cut short, she wonders if she will ever find Joe again.

Nursing her broken heart with the help of new friend Jessie, Alice begins to pick up the pieces of her broken heart and starts to build a life attending university and it’s not long before a new love interest tries to win her heart but will Alice be able to put her thoughts and feelings for Joe aside and start her new life with Lucas?
This book had my full attention from the first chapter, there is something about Paige Toons writing style that draws you in from the moment we meet her characters.

Alice was easy to warm to she is a very gentle and loveable character and she leaves a lasting impression even after the book finishes and I think this is because when we first meet Alice she is only 18 and experiencing her first serious relationship which we can all relate to. The book then jumps through the years of her life and we see her growing up.

I loved Joe’s character too. His circumstances when we are introduced to him make his character feel vulnerable and we instantly want to care for him and hope that there are positive changes coming soon for him. When Alice and Joe parted I really missed his character, I was hoping we would move to Joe’s story at some point early on in the book so we could see what he was doing at the same time as Alice but none the less I still enjoyed the book I think it probably kept you turning the pages with the suspense of needing to know what happens to him.

I really didn’t warm to Lucas and I struggled to see what Alice saw in him he was very controlling and he seemed to just be competing with his ex rather than taking Alice’s feelings into account.
I would say this is one of my favourite Paige Toon boos but I would love to shake this author! She really does like to leave the reader hanging. As it was coming to the end I couldn’t wait to see how thing panned out but no wait for it....... there is to be a sequel to One Perfect Summer, Paige Toon what are you doing to me how will I sleep tonight!

This is a great read which will have you speeding through the pages and sitting on the edge of your seat. A must read by Paige Toon.


Paperback                   Kindle

Friday, 1 June 2012

Coffee, tea, the gypsy & me by Caroline James


I have had Coffee, Tea, The Gypsy and Me by Caroline James sat on my to be read pile for a while now and I need something a little different from the current books I have been reading as it was starting to feel like all the characters from various books were merging into one and so flicking through my pile I decided to boost this one to the top to give it a try.

Set in the 1980’s Jo feels like life has hit rock bottom as her partner has left her and their little son. Jo needs a challenge to make her get up in the morning and to make some hard earned cash to secure a feature for her son. When an opportunity arises for her to buy Kirkton House she doesn’t hesitate in buying it and transforming it into a hotel come restaurant.

As we meet many guests coming and going through Kirkton House doors Jo soon starts to fear for the future of her business with the financial crisis hitting everyone she wonders how she wil make ends meet will she be able to carry on or will she have to sell?

This was a great easy read I found myself clicking through the pages so much so that I finished this book in an afternoon! I loved Jo she was a very entertaining and ambitious character who was happy to muck in and get her hands dirty. I thought the friendship between Jo and Hattie really made this book, they are two poles apart but they form such a great friendship and both help each other out in times of need. Hattie managed to bring a great sense of humour to this book.

The only problem I really had with this book was there were so many characters in this book, now the main characters were developed very well but the extra characters were not developed well enough to be able to remember who was who which may not have been a problem had they only turned up once in the book but once they were referred to again I couldn’t remember who they were and this was a little off putting. I loved the whole gypsy tradition which was included in this book the traditions and values that were included were true gypsy ways which gave the book a more realistic and informative approach for any reader who are not aware of Gypsy culture.

In true fiction form the romance comes unbelievably quickly but the author manages to then create twists and turns in the relationships in this book to still keep you interested. I would have loved to see a little bit more of the renovation of Kirkton House just so it didn’t feel as though it had easy fallen into Jo’s lap.

All in all I think this is a great read at a great price on kindle and well worth clicking to get your own copy.


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...